The Sixth: Welcome to Bhanbhor, Sindh's latest administrative division

Bhanbhore created after splitting Hyderabad. Joins Karachi, Larkana, Sukkur, Mirpurkhas and Hyderabad divisions.

Hafeez Tunio April 24, 2014
New district of Bhanbhore includes Sujawal, Badin and Thatta. IMAGE: THATTA DISTRICT GOVERNMENT WEBSITE/FILE

KARACHI: Sindh government on Thursday bifurcated Hyderabad division, craving out the sixth division of the province “Bhanbhor”. 

According to notification issued by government, the newly formed division will be headquartered at Makli and will comprise three districts including Badin, Thatta and Sujawal. Both Bhanbhore and Makli are more known for the presence of historical sites with the former hosting remains of what is claimed as the location where Muhammad Bin Qasim battled then ruler of Sindh Raja Dahir in 711 AD. Makli is known for its ancient necropolis.

After the recent decision the number of division in the province has increased to six. Previously, Sindh was divided in Karachi, Hyderabad, Mirpurkhas, Sukkur and Larkana divisions.

Hyderabad division will now consist of seven districts including Benazirabad, Dadu, Jamshoro, Tando Allahyar, Matiyari, Tando Muhammad Khan and Hyderabad.

The latest divisions come almost seven months after the government had bifurcated the Thatta district into Thatta and Sujawal.

The divisions have triggered another debate in the province with some political parties terming the basis of the divisions political rather than the administrative one as claimed by the ruling Pakistan Peoples Party.

The government says the division will facilitate the people by providing them more opportunities. “We welcome this decision, which has been made on the recommendation of local people,” Sindh Information Minister Sharjeel Inam Memon said adding that more districts in the province can be made.

However, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz MNA Ayaz Shah Sherazi from Thatta expressed doubts over the intentions of the PPP government. “Earlier, the provincial government craved out Sujjawal district from Thatta, now they have split Hyderabad division.  PPP want to gain its vested interest through such kind of decision.”


Stranger | 7 years ago | Reply

Smaller regions are easier to manage.

Naseer Chamkani | 7 years ago | Reply

PPP, always, works hard for their people

Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read