Seat adjustment causes complication in NA-88

PML-N makes way for former PTI leader representing IPP

Malik Arshad February 05, 2024


The National Assembly constituency NA-88 comprising of the Noorpur Thal and Quaidabad tehsils of Khushab district is witnessing a contest among 14 candidates in this week’s general elections.

The Pakistan Muslim League-N has not issued a party ticket for the constituency because of seat adjustment with the Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party (IPP). Malik Gul Asghar Baghwar, a former member of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, is contesting for the IPP.

However, former MPA Malik Moazzam Sher Kallu, who had sought the PML-N ticket, decided to run independently after not receiving the party endorsement.

Community group votes, particularly from the Tiwana, Awan, Baloch, Kallu and Bandial clans, significantly influence the election outcome in the constituency. Moazzam Sher Kallu is banking on the support of his community after estrangement from his party. On the other hand, Gul Asghar Bhagwar is hopeful of decisive support from the PML-N voters.

The constituency has 451,000 voters, including 236,000 women and 215,000 men, for whom 936 polling booths will be set up.

In the Punjab Assembly constituency PP-83, encompassing the Hijjat area of Kadhi and Noorpur Thal, 11 candidates are in the field.

The key contenders include Sardar Ali Hussain Baloch of PML-N, Ehsanullah Tiwana of IPP, Amjad Raza Gujjar backed by PTI, Waris Jasra of Jamaat-e-Islami and Sher Muhammad Sialvi of Tehreek-e-Labaik Pakistan. Ehsanullah Tiwana, who had been elected MNA on PTI's ticket in 2018, is now contesting for the provincial assembly under the IPP banner. Ali Hussain Baloch, once his ally, is now a rival. PP-83 has 237,293 voters.

Published in The Express Tribune, February 5th, 2024.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ