Election time: MQM set to finalise Senate candidates name this week

The MQM currently has six members in the Senate.

Our Correspondent January 25, 2012

KARACHI: The Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) plans to finalise the names of its three candidates for the upcoming Senate elections.

The MQM currently has six members in the Senate, and the tenure of three - Abdul Khaliq Pirzada, Col (retd) Syed Tahir Hussain Mashhadi and Ahmad Ali – will end on March 11.  On Tuesday, the MQM’s Coordination Committee met to discuss the candidates for the elections. The meeting was chaired by deputy conveners Dr Farooq Sattar and Anis Ahmed Qaimkhani to discuss the names of potential candidates recommended by various wings of the party.

The Coordination Committee in London also met to discuss the names. According to the MQM’s Wasay Jalil, over 15 wings of the party as well as the MPAs and MNAs provide recommendations for candidates for the Senate elections. “It goes down to the unit and sector level as well,” Jalil said. While he declined to comment on potential candidates, he said that there were no sitting MPAs or MNAs who were in the running.

The candidates will be decided on at the Coordination Committee’s next meeting, which will most likely be scheduled after the party’s rally in Sukkur on January 27. The party’s other three senators, Babar Khan Ghauri, Abdul Haseeb Khan and Shirala Malik, will end their tenure in March 2015.

Published in The Express Tribune, January 26th, 2012. 


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read