Notification issued for Karachi's Deputy Commissioners

The appointments have been made under the newly-restored Commissionerate System in Sindh.

Express July 11, 2011

KARACHI: The government has issued a notification to appoint district commissioners in Karachi’s five districts.

The notification has been issued by Sindh's Revenue Department.

The following is a list of the appointed Deputy Commissioners (DC):


  • Matanat Ali - DC, Central District

  • Jamal Mustafa Qazi – DC, South District

  • Ganwar Laghari – DC, West District

  • Mushtaq Ahmad – DC, East District

  • Jan Muhammad Qazi – DC, Malir District.

The appointments have been made under the newly-restored Commissionerate System in Sindh.

ANP submits demarcation of constituencies application

Awami National Party (ANP) has decided to submit an application to Election Commision (EC) for the demarcation of new constituencies in Karachi.

ANP Sindh President Shahi Syed told Express News that the decision has been taken after the revival of the commissionerate system, saying that the demarcation of the new constituencies is mandatory after the revival of the commissionerate system.

The ANP will submit an application to the EC soon.

ANP delegation calls upon President Zardari

A delegation of the ANP also met President Asif Ali Zardari at the President house on Monday, to discuss the current situation in Karachi.

During the meeting, President Asif Ali Zardari said the government is committed to eliminating extremist elements in order to restore peace across the country including Karachi.

The ANP delegation was headed by Shahi Syed.

The President said protecton of life and property is government's utmost priority and that the government is committed to following the policy of reconciliation and taking all political parties on board.

Notification issued to restore Sindh districts

The Sindh Governmnet issued notifications for restoring Karachi, Hyderabad, Mir Pur Khas, Larkana and Sukkur metropolitan corporations. The accounts of all districts and towns have also been frozen.

According to a notification, metropolitan and municipal corporations of all five divisions formed under the Commissionerate System in Sindh, have now been restored to their pre-August 13, 2001 status. The corporations had been abolished in 2001 following the Local Government ordinance introduced by Pervaiz Musharraf.

A transaction cell headed by the special secretary local government has also been formed to to look after the financial matters. The accounts of all districts and towns have been frozen and a ban has been imposed on any kind of transactions on behalf of the district and town offices.

A chief municipal commissioner will take charge in place of town municipal officer.

The posts of director local government on divisonal level, have also been restored.

Wards will be restored in urban areas, now, after the union councils have been disolved.

However, union councils will remain to function in rural areas.


Haseeb Uddin | 10 years ago | Reply

Welcome back to the stone age :) Zardari Khappay, Pakistan Warhay!! :)

Sameer Usmani | 10 years ago | Reply

@Hassan Farooqi: Very well put, i don't need to comment now. 1 word of advice to everyone, come to the streets, the country cannot rectify it self, if you can't come to the streets, expatriation suits you !

Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read