PM Imran to announce new visa policy today

90 countries will be offered business visas, while 55 states will be granted visa on arrival: Fawad

News Desk March 14, 2019
90 countries will be offered business visa, while 55 states will be granted visa on arrival. PHOTO: FILE

Prime Minister Imran Khan is set to announce a new visa policy for 190 countries on Thursday in order to promote tourism and investment in the country, Radio Pakistan reported.

Addressing the media along with Prime Minister's Special Assistant on Media Iftikhar Durrani in Islamabad, Minister for Information Fawad Chaudhry said initially the e-visa facility will be given to five countries, which include Turkey, China, Malaysia, United Kingdom, and the United Arab Emirates.

He added that the policy will be extended to 170 countries at a later date. "90 countries will be offered business visas, while 55 states will be granted visa on arrival."

According to sources, the new visa system is being implemented on the British and American visa systems, while the visa process will be completed in three steps.

Pakistan abolishes on-arrival visa for Afghan nationals

"Journalists' visa policy is also being worked out to facilitate western journalists, which will have reciprocal effect for Pakistani journalists and media organisations," said Fawad, adding that the visa fee has been reduced significantly to attract more and more tourists to Pakistan.

He added that the government is writing to the Indian embassy to grant visas to Pakistani journalists, who want to cover upcoming general elections in India.

"A passenger identification system for the e-visa facility has also been installed at airports in Karachi and Lahore, it will be also be installed at other airports across the country."

[sc name="Online Visa PK"]


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ