Notification issued for composition of new administrative divisions in Mohmand, Khyber

Mohmand, Khyber districts merged with Peshawar Division

Our Correspondent July 20, 2018
Tribal areas. PHOTO: REUTERS

PESHAWAR: Over a month after landmark legislation was passed to merge the tribal districts with the settled areas, the provincial government on Thursday officially notified the administrative divisions and districts in the merged areas.

A notification issued by the Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa Board of Revenue on Thursday changed the geographic composition of Peshawar division by adding two tribal districts including Mohmand and Khyber, previously part of the Federally Administered Tribal Areas (Fata), along with the addition of the Frontier Region Peshawar.

The Peshawar division now comprises five districts including Peshawar, Charsadda, Nowshera, Mohmand and Khyber.

The notification further states that the administrative divisions have been altered in pursuant to 25th Amendment Act regarding the merger of the erstwhile Fata areas in the province and in the exercise of the powers conferred as per section 6, Chapter-II of Land Revenue Act 1967.

NA passes ‘historic’ Fata, K-P merger bill

Similarly, the Bajaur has been merged with the Malakand Division which will now comprise of eight districts including Malakand, Swat, Shangla, Buner, Upper Dir Upper, Lower Dir, Chitral and Bajaur.

The Kohat division will see the addition of two districts including Orakzai and Kurram districts and the Sub-Division of Darra Adam Khel. Darra Adam Khel will be the part of Kohat District while the two former tribal agencies will be new and separate districts.

The Kohat Division will now comprise five districts including Kohat, Hangu, Karak, Orakzai and Kurram.

FR Bannu has been included in the Bannu district along with the Wazir subdivision, while FR Bettani has been included in the Lakki Marwat district and North Waziristan has been included in the Bannu division as a full district.

Tribal belt celebrates FATA, K-P merger

Similarly, in Dera Ismail Khan division, FR Darazinda has been included in DI Khan district, while, FR Jandola has been included in Tank. South Waziristan has been attached to the division as a separate district in the division.

The Hazara and Mardan divisions see no alteration as no part of the erstwhile Fata is attached to these two regions.

Published in The Express Tribune, July 20th, 2018.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ

Most Read