Anam Amin included in ICC's WT20 dream team

Not even one Pakistani player from the men's team made it to ICC's team of the tournament

Sports Desk April 04, 2016

Despite being knocked out of the World T20’s Super 10 stages like their male counterparts, Pakistan women's team has outpaced the boy’s side after successfully registering one name in the International Cricket Council's (ICC) women's team of the tournament.

Left-arm spinner Anam Amin has been inducted as the 12th player in the women's team of the tournament after bagging seven wickets in four World T20 matches.

Women's World T20: Pakistan beat Bangladesh by nine wickets

Anam returned figures of 4-16 against the eventual Women's World T20 winners West Indies in Pakistan women team's campaign opener. She followed up it with 1-9 against India, 2-12 against Bangladesh and 0-36 against England.

The women's team of the tournament includes four players from New Zealand, two players each from England, Australia and West Indies and one player apiece from South Africa and Pakistan.

Meanwhile, not even one Pakistani male player made it into the men's team of the tournament.

Pakistan's Javeria Khan injured after being hit by bouncer

Indian batsman Virat Kohli was chosen as captain of the men's team, which includes four players from finalists England, two from winners West Indies and India (including Kohli) and one each from South Africa, Australia, New Zealand and Bangladesh.

ICC World T20 teams of the tournament

Men: Jason Roy (England), Quinton de Kock (South Africa, wicketkeeper), Virat Kohli (India, captain), Joe Root (England), Jos Buttler (England), Shane Watson (Australia), Andre Russell (West Indies), Mitchell Santner (New Zealand), David Willey (England), Samuel Badree (West Indies), Ashish Nehra (India), Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh, 12th player).

A meeting with the Girls in Green

Women: Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Charlotte Edwards (England), Meg Lanning (Australia), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies, captain), Sophie Devine (New Zealand), Rachel Priest (New Zealand, wicketkeeper), Deandra Dottin (West Indies), Megan Schutt (Australia), Sune Luus (South Africa), Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand), Anya Shrubsole (England), Anam Amin (Pakistan, 12th player).


saqiba | 7 years ago | Reply Very proud of you Anam Amin!
Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ