Pakistan wins three gold at regional tech awards

Published: November 23, 2015
Pakistani team after winning awards at APICTA 2015. PHOTO COURTESY: APICTA

Pakistani team after winning awards at APICTA 2015. PHOTO COURTESY: APICTA

Pakistan bagged three gold and one silver award at the Asia Pacific ICT Awards (APICTA) 2015 held in Colombo, Sri Lanka.

According to a statement released by the Pakistan Software Houses Association for IT & ITES (P@SHA), a team representing Pakistan won three gold and one silver awards at APICTA 2015 on Saturday.

13 start-up incubators, accelerators, and co-working spaces in Pakistan

Eyedeus Labs led the way by securing a gold in the startup category for their new product “Ingrain”, while Evamp & Sanga received a gold for their “Mobile Audio Streaming Service” under the Inclusion and Community Category. The third gold was bagged by Noor Asif and Muhammad Farjad Hassan, students of NUST College of Electrical and Mechanical Engineering, for their research project “Active and Intelligent Powered Ankle Foot Prosthesis for Trans-tibial Amputees” under the Tertiary Student Category.

The silver award was won by a young team from The Nest, P@SHA’s Technology Incubator in Karachi, for their project ‘Teddict’ under School Category. Teddict is a learning portal for young students that makes learning more engaging by giving the primary role to the student.

The Pakistani team comprised 50 members with 22 technology products competing for the prestigious APICTA awards against 197 products from 17 economies in the region.

MIT Enterprise Forum: Programme to include ‘Women-led Technology Start-ups’

Pakistan High Commissioner in Sri Lanka Major General (Retd) Syed Shakeel Hussain and Sri Lankan Minister for Telecom and Digital Infrastructure were present at the award giving ceremony.

Founded in 2001, APICTA is an alliance of national ICT organisations representing their respective economy to build and enhance a cooperative network to promote ICT, enhance innovations, capability and adoption and encourage the development of indigenous ICT solutions.

APICTA’s 17-member economies include Australia, Bangladesh, Brunei, China, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Macao, Malaysia, Myanmar, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand and Vietnam.

Facebook Conversations

Reader Comments (2)

  • Logic
    Nov 23, 2015 - 3:40PM

    Well done guys!!!Recommend

  • Mk
    Nov 24, 2015 - 5:54AM

    Well done!! Making Pakistan proud-Alhamdullilah!! Recommend

More in Pakistan