Sindh CM calls for cases of suspended TMOs to be refered to Anti-Corruption Department

Suspended officers include chief minister's grandson

Hafeez Tunio/hafeez Tunio June 30, 2015

KARACHI: Sindh Chief Minister Qaim Ali Shah has directed officials concerned to refer the cases of 37 suspended Town Municipal Officers (TMOs), including his own grandson, to the Anti-Corruption Department.

The officers were suspended on Monday over the claims of misappropriation of billions of rupees in their accounts. The chief minister’s decision came during a Cabinet meeting in Karachi on Tuesday.

Addressing the media, Memon confirmed that the government suspended these officers for not obeying his orders.

“Despite repeated warnings, the TMOs did not provide the details of expenses in their areas,” Sindh Minister for Local Government Sharjeel Memon said.

The officers, he said, were issued showcase notices on June 22 and June 27 but failed to provide account details, prompting the government to taken against them.

Read: Curbing corruption: NAB to work on 16 cases referred by SECP

According to sources, appointments of the suspended officials were made on political grounds. Some of them are also said to be kith and kin of PPP ministers and leaders.

The chief minister’s grandson, Ahsan Ali Shah, is among those who have been suspended. Ali Shah was working as the town municipal officer in Sobho Dero.

Sources added that the Sindh Local Government Department has directed the anti-corruption cell to investigate the matter.

There were also reports that the cases against the TMOs will be referred to NAB, however, no official has confirmed this yet.

Read: Graft cases: SHC restrains NAB from arresting CMIT chief

Along with Ali Shah, the other suspended officers include President of PPP minority wing Lal Chand Ukrani’s son Amar Lal, Abdul Rasool Khoso (TMO Sakrand), Mian Imran Andhair (TMO Sualehput), Khalid Khan Kharoosh and Waqar Ahmed (TMO Obaro), Syed Javed Hasan Shah (TMO Pano Aqil), Agha Amjad Ali Pathan (TMO  Ghari Khero), Baghan Khan Nandwani (TMO Tangwani), Liaquat Ali Bhatti and Abid Ali Khoso (TMO Manjhand), Majid Anwar Sehar and Muhammad Ibrahim Umrani (Tando Adam), Waheed Panhiyar and Ejaz Ahmed Mallah (Mero Khan), Anisur RehmanSayal (DMC Korangi), Zahoor Ahmed Lakhan ( Naushero Feroz), Syed Ejaz Ali Shah (Malir), Ayaz Hameedullah Baloch (Malir), Alamghir Junejo (Sanjharo), Mehtab Ali Khawaja (Samaro), Fayyaz Ali Shah and Syed Ali Haider Shah, Syed Ali Mughari, Zainul Abideen Malik (Kunri) were also suspended.

Meanwhile, the cabinet meeting also approved the 9,000 acre land allotted to the Pakistan Army, while also discussing issues pertaining to the law and order, registration of seminaries, heatwave and post budget for the year 2015-16.


Kamran Akmal | 7 years ago | Reply Anti corruption, why not NAB ?......Nothing will come out of this, mark my words
Tanveer Kolachi | 7 years ago | Reply indeed, very bad move from PPP. again PPP would like to save the corrupt government guards. PPP knows that once any apple of an eye caught from NAB shall not be granted bail for 60 sixty days. where same can be released with in an hour from the department of Anti corruption. so friends, chill pill.
Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ

Most Read