Chaudhry Nisar, Rehman Malik amongst phone bill defaulters

PTCL list reveals 284 former MNAs failed to pay their bills.

Web Desk March 27, 2013
PTCL list reveals 284 former MNAs failed to pay their bills. PHOTO: FILE

ISLAMABAD: According to a Pakistan Telecommunication Corporation Limited (PTCL) list, 284 former members of the National Assembly have not paid their telephone bills, Express News reported on Wednesday.

The list was provided to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) for nomination papers’ verification process.

As per the list, former Leader of the Opposition Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan owes Rs96,000, Qamar Zaman Kaira Rs96,800, Manzoor Wattoo Rs271,000, Firdous Ashiq Awan Rs147,869, Dr Hafeez Sheikh Rs93,541 and Rehman Malik Rs195,556.

The defaulters include Awami National Party chief Asfandyar Wali, MQM leaders Babar Ghauri and Farooq Sattar, Ahmed Mukhtar, Fehmida Mirza and Farooq H Naek.

The National Assembly Secretariat stated that telephone bills for Chairman Senate, Deputy Chairman Senate, Speaker National Assembly, Deputy Speaker National Assembly, Opposition Leader and other ministers are the government’s responsibility, and that individuals cannot be held responsible.

The ECP has forwarded the list to the concerned returning officers across the country.

Earlier, Islamabad Electric Supply Company released a list of politicians who have not paid their power bill.


Jibran | 8 years ago | Reply

Shameful Propaganda... The telephone bills of the ministers is the responsibility of the government, and the corresponding ministry.

p r sharma | 8 years ago | Reply

Minister's phone bill and electricity bill is normally paid by the state as these are the perquisites given to the law makers. along with the salary( the responsibility lies with the resident )but the payment/ reimbursement is to be made by the government.

Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read