Pakistan bat in Twenty20 international

This match is the only option for our Twenty20 specialist players to show their mettle.

Afp March 03, 2013
Pakistan's opening batsman Shahid Afridi (R) bats on March 3, 2013 during the T20 cricket match between South Africa and Pakistan at SuperSport Park in Centurion. PHOTO: AFP

CENTURION: Pakistan won the toss and decided to bat in the second and final Twenty20 international against South Africa at SuperSport Park on Sunday.

The match is the series decider after the first game was abandoned without a ball bowled because of rain in Durban on Friday.

The South African team included only five of the players who appeared in the final Test of South Africa's 3-0 clean sweep at the same venue last week - captain Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers, Rory Kleinveldt, Robin Peterson and Kyle Abbott.

It was Abbott's first cap in the shortest version of the game.

Pakistan had only three survivors from the final Test - captain Mohammad Hafeez, Saeed Ajmal and Mohammad Irfan.


South Africa: Faf du Plessis (capt), Henry Davids, AB de Villiers (wkt), Justin Ontong, Farhaan Behardien, David Miller, Kyle Abbott, Chris Morris, Robin Peterson, Rory Kleinveldt, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

Pakistan: Mohammad Hafeez (capt), Nasir Jamshed, Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Shahid Afridi, Kamran Akmal (wkt), Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Irfan.

Umpires: Johan Cloete and Shaun George (both RSA). TV umpire: Adrian Holdstock (RSA).

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL).

Our Publications


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ