Anti-corruption: Legal loophole may allow accused to flee abroad

The accountability watchdog has not authorised an inquiry since July this year.

Asad Kharal September 05, 2011

LAHORE: A legal lacuna may allow a number of corrupt officials to flee the country because the NAB, being dysfunctional since July this year, is unable to put the names of the accused on the exit control list (ECL), officials told The Express Tribune on Sunday.

The National Accountability Bureau (NAB) has effectively become dysfunctional since a Supreme Court verdict announced on June 10 which reads: “…For what has been discussed above the federal government is directed to fill the vacant office of the chairman NAB and the Prosecutor General NAB within one month of announcement of this judgment positively failing which respondent No 5 i.e Deputy Chairman NAB shall ipso facto and without further ado stand denuded of his authority to continue exercising the delegated powers of chairman NAB and performing any other function not conferred upon him by the National Accountability Ordinance (NAO) 1999. If in such an eventuality the NAB practically ceases to exist or function under the NAO 1999 then the blame for the same shall rest squarely upon the shoulders of the federal government .This constitution petition is disposed of with the directions issued and the observations made above.”

The government, officials said, failed to fill two important posts in NAB – the corruption watchdog is without a chairman and prosecutor-general despite the ending of a deadline fixed by the Supreme Court regarding the filling of these posts till July 20.

Published in The Express Tribune, September 5th,  2011.


Ishrat Salim | 12 years ago | Reply That is the very reason the govt is not interested or in a hurry to appoint any Chairman or PG.....but if the FIA wants it can request the same thru ministry of interior...but again it depends on Mr Malik....??
Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ