Punjab local govt dept appoints 59 engineers

Metropolitan, municipal, tehsil officers appointed across province

KHALID RASHEED April 28, 2020

LAHORE: The Punjab Local Government and Community Development (LG&CD) Department has appointed 59 newly recruited Grade-17 engineers across the province after receiving recommendations from the Punjab Public Service Commission (PPSC).

A notification stated that the engineers had been posted as metropolitan, municipal and tehsil officers for infrastructure and services.

The local government and community development department is in the process of improving the strength of its human resource to address the lack of sufficient number of officers in various tiers in the province.

The department appointed two engineers as metropolitan officers. Zulqarnain Shah was appointed in Faisalabad Metropolitan Corporation and Ibrahim Kamal in Rawalpindi Metropolitan Corporation.

As many as 51 as municipal officers were posted, including Muhammad Asif in Okara Municipal Corporation, Muhammad Aqeel in Bhalwal Municipal Committee, Zain Ali in Kahror Paka, Awais Hussain Shah in Kotli Sattian, Zeeshan Ahmad in Shahkot and Muhammad Zeeshanul Haq in Kasur.

The newly appointed municipal officers also include Muhammad Asif Raza in Khairpur Tamewali Municipal Committee, Farooq Hussain in Noshehran Virkan, Mujtaba Ahmad in Sohawa, Muhammad Sagheer in Shujabad, Omar Nawaz Khan in Ferozewala and Muhammad Tulaib Hassan in Khushab.

Muhammad Ali Khizar was posted as municipal officer in Nankana Sahib Municipal Committee, Muhammad Tayyeb Maqsood in Narowal, Muhammad Ikram Ashraf in Jhang, Saddam Hussain in Mankera, Shehreyar Khan in Mustafabad, Muhammad Usman Ghani in Sheikhupura.

Moreover, Mubashar Saeed was posted in Sangla Hill Municipal Committee, Zeeshan Fareed in Lodhran, Adil Shehzad in Pasrur, Syed Sadaf Abbas Kazmi in Hazru, Rana Fahad Liaqat in Phool Nagar, Imran Ishaq in AhmadpPur Siyal, Kashif Riaz in Malak Waal, Muhammad Rashid Minhas Shah in Karor Laal Esan and Faraz Ahwaz in Kamalia.

The engineers appointed tehsil officers include Hafiz Talat Mehmood in Toba Tek Singh Tehsil Council, Muhammad Talha Hussain in Bhakkar, Muhammad Uzair Arshad in Burewala, Sajid Raza in Chishtian and Ehsanullah in Gujrat.

The postings of the recruited officers would help reduce the workload on already burdened officials who had additional charges.

Punjab LG&CD Secretary Dr Ahmad Javed Qazi said Chief Minister Sardar Usman Buzdar had expressed hope that the new officers would serve the people with the best of their abilities.

The secretary said the department had received recommendation letters from the PPSC for 102 officers who would soon be on board to help improve service delivery in the province.

Published in The Express Tribune, April 28th, 2020.

Facebook Conversations