Wasim Akram makes it to fans' dream test team of all time

Wasim is among group of bowlers who captured over 400 wickets in both the test and limited overs format of the game.

Afp July 18, 2011

LONDON: In the week when England host India at Lord's in the 2,000th Test match, there was no room for any English players in an ICC poll to decide cricket fans' greatest Test team of all time. Though there was enough space for Pakistani fast bowler Wasim Akram.

Names like W.G. Grace, Jack Hobbs, Len Hutton, Jim Laker, Fred Trueman and Ian Botham were all overlooked as a quarter of a million fans voted on the website of the International Cricket Council (ICC), the sport's ruling body, for the top Test side over the last 134 years.

In contrast India, who are currenly number one in the Test rankings, had four representatives including one, Sachin Tendulkar, who will play in Thursday's landmark match.

Australia also had four representatives in the team including the peerless Don Bradman, whose Test batting average of 99.94 remains head and shoulders above anyone else ever to have played the game.

Bradman, whose last Test was in 1948, is the only player on the list to have played before the Second World War. Indeed, he is the only one from before the 1970s.

"Selecting from such greats is no easy job, and not surprisingly, the selection mainly reflects modern players seen by present day supporters," said Haroon Lorgat, the ICC chief executive.

"There are many greats from the past who would have easily merited selection in this team, but it is nevertheless interesting to see the fans' view on their greatest XI of all time."

Two West Indians make the cut - although there is no place for any players from their great sides of the 1970s or 80s such as Gary Sobers, Viv Richards or Malcolm Marshall.

One Pakistani, Wasim Akram also made it to the list. Wasim is among a select group of bowlers who captured over 400 wickets in both the test and limited overs format of the game.

Of the 10 Test playing nations, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, New Zealand and South Africa are also without representation.

The full ICC Test Dream XI: Virender Sehwag (IND), Sunil Gavaskar (IND), Donald Bradman (AUS), Sachin Tendulkar (IND), Brian Lara (WIS), Kapil Dev (IND), Adam Gilchrist (AUS), Shane Warne (AUS), Wasim Akram (PAK), Curtly Ambrose (WIS), Glenn McGrath (AUS)



sudesh mishra | 9 years ago | Reply

i think instead of sehwag it should be sir vivian richards.that sit.

Sam | 9 years ago | Reply

if i had it my way saqlain mustak and saeed anwar along with ponting and imran khan would definitely be on the list

Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ