Govt announces public holidays for 2019

A total of 14 public holidays given by the federal government

DNA February 04, 2019
A woman buy bangles and jewellery at a stall ahead of Eid al-Fitr in Islamabad. PHOTO: REUTERS

ISLAMABAD: The federal government on Sunday announced a total of 14 public holidays for the year 2019.

The announcement came through a notification issued by the Ministry of Interior. It listed dates and days of the holidays including Kashmir Day, Pakistan Day, Labour Day, Eidul Fitr, Eidul Azha, Independence Day, Ashura, Eid Miladun Nabi (PBUH) and Quaid-e-Azam Day.

The banking sector has been alloted three additional holidays that  include January 1, May 7 and July 1. However, the banks will only remain closed for the public and not the employees.

“The holidays for Muslim festivals are subject to appearance of [the] moon for which a separate notification will be issued,” the notification reads.

The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) government also listed 23 optional holidays for government officials. These include New Years, Basant, Shiv Ratri, Holi, Dulhandi, Shab-e-Mairaj, Good Friday, Easter, Nauroze among others.

Prior permision will be sought by the officials from the concerned head office before availing the vacation days. "Muslims can avail only one optional holiday while non-Muslims can take up to three," the notification added.


Most Read


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ