Express reporter elected as PAS head

Published: January 12, 2019
Supreme Court of Pakistan. PHOTO: AFP

Supreme Court of Pakistan. PHOTO: AFP

ISLAMABAD: The Press Association of Supreme Court of Pakistan (PAS) has unanimously elected Mian Aqeel Afzal of the Express Media Group as its president for 2019-20.

The election commissioner issued a notification of the successful candidates on Friday. PAS members also unanimously elected Syed Sabeehul Hussnain of The Nation as the vice president.

The association comprises of 45 reporters who cover the top court for various media outlets. It has its own office inside the SC building.

PAS elects first female president

The members also elected Zulqarnain Iqbal of Samaa TV as the general secretary, Allah Dad Siddiqui of Din News as the finance secretary and Muhammad Azam Gill of Daily Nawaiwaqt as the information secretary.

Amanat Gishkori of 24 News HD, Adeel Sarfaraz of Aaj News and Babar Anwar Abbasi of G-News Network (GNN) were unanimously elected as members of PAS’ executive committee.  Sohail Khan, the chief election commissioner issued a notification of the successful candidates.

Islamabad High Court reporters association and the parliamentary reporters association congratulated the new members on their election.  

Published in The Express Tribune, January 12th, 2019.

Facebook Conversations

Leave Your Reply Below

Your comments may appear in The Express Tribune paper. For this reason we encourage you to provide your city. The Express Tribune does not bear any responsibility for user comments.

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive. For more information, please see our Comments FAQ.

More in Pakistan