Pakistan Hockey League teams' probable names revealed

Six teams will participate in next year's tournament with foreign players also featuring in the tournament

MIAN ASGHAR SALEEMI December 25, 2018

LAHORE: The first-ever Pakistan Hockey League is ready to take place next year and, according to sources, six teams will be participating in the event.

The teams will be named after the six major cities of Pakistan, with a desi touch added to their names.

According to reports, the teams will be named Karachi Karare, Lahori Ustad, Peshawar Dilawar, Multan Sufiyan and Quetta Defenders.

Poland agrees to visit Pakistan for hockey series next year

Meanwhile, the sixth city will be Islamabad, but the complete name for the last team hasn't been revealed yet.

Also, the league will host players from hockey powerhouses such as Germany, the Netherlands, Spain, Belgium, France and Argentina.

The Pakistan Hockey Federation has given the marketing team the task to attract at least three to four foreign players for each participating side.

No Pakistani player included for FIH awards

The league will also have a age limit, where players aged 25 years and above will not be allowed to participate in the event in order to promote and groom young talent.

The final schedule of the hockey league will be announced after the Executive Board meeting.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read