PCB names centrally-contracted cricketers

‘Historic achievement’ of women’s team recognised.

Express May 17, 2011


In a ground-breaking move for women’s cricket, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced a list of 20 cricketers who have been awarded central contracts for 2011.

The women’s team has shown improvement in recent times, which includes clinching the Asian Games Twenty20 gold medal last year, as well as winning a quadrangular tournament in Sri Lanka in April.

A PCB media release confirmed that their “recent historic achievement” encouraged  Ijaz Butt to award the contracts, starting from January 1.

Captain Sana Mir, Javeria Khan, Nain Abidi, Bismah Maroof and Batool Fatima have been placed in Category A, while Nida Dar, Asmavia Iqbal, Qanita Jalil and Marina Iqbal are in Category B. Masooma Junaid, Sadia Yousaf, Rabiya Shah, Sana Gulzar and Sidra Ameen fall in category C.

Kainat Imtiaz, Nahida Khan, Namra Imran, Faryal Awan and Areeb Shamaim have been awarded Category D contracts.

Payments will be made in the categories of Rs 50,000, Rs 35,000, Rs 20,000 and Rs 10,000.

Published in The Express Tribune, May 18th, 2011.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ

Most Read