Taylor again left out of New Zealand T20I squad

The 32-year-old has not played for Black Caps since World T20 11 months ago

Afp February 12, 2017

WELLINGTON, NEW ZEALAND: New Zealand senior batsman Ross Taylor has again been kept out of the New Zealand T20I squad named on Sunday to play South Africa later in the week.

New Zealand Cricket announced its T20I and ODI squads, with Corey Anderson and Tom Bruce preferred over Taylor to prop up the middle order in the game's shortest form.

Taylor is the third-highest run scorer for New Zealand in the shortest format of the game, but has not played since the World T20 11 months ago.

Matthew Wade out of New Zealand ODI series

Leg spinner Ish Sodhi retained his place in the ODI squad along with Mitchell Santner, while big-hitting all-rounder Colin Munro was dropped with Jimmy Neesham taking over the number six spot.

"Colin hasn't quite shown the consistency he would like in the middle-order and we feel Jimmy is deserved of an opportunity with the bat at six," selector Gavin Larsen said. "Having two frontline spinners in the side gives us flexibility and Ish is an aggressive bowler who in the right conditions can be a real threat for us."

Luke Ronchi will also make his return to both forms of the game after missing the recent Australia series because of injury.

Second New Zealand-Australia ODI washed out

New Zealand play South Africa in a one-off Twenty20 in Auckland on Friday and a five-match ODI series starting in Hamilton beginning Sunday, February 19.

New Zealand T20I squad: Kane Williamson (capt), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Tom Bruce, Lockie Ferguson, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, James Neesham, Luke Ronchi, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ben Wheeler.

New Zealand ODI squad: Kane Williamson (capt), Trent Boult, Neil Broom, Lockie Ferguson, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, James Neesham, Luke Ronchi, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Ross Taylor.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ