England tour: Shehzad, Umar Akmal dropped over disciplinary issues

Inzamamul Haq says his selection committee to be a little stern on discipline

Sports Desk May 02, 2016

Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Akmal and Shahid Afridi will not be part of a 35-man camp for England tour, newly-appointed chief selector Inzamamul Haq announced on Monday.

“Shehzad and Umar don’t have enough performances and lack discipline,” said Inzamam. “Wherever there will be a disciplinary problem, we will take a step. And you should expect this selection committee to be a little stern on discipline.”

Theatre scandal: ‘Umar Akmal most likely to be cleared’

Inzamam, while explaining his decision to exclude Afridi, said: “Pakistan will play only six T20Is in the coming 14 months so we are thinking of trying new players. Meanwhile, Afridi will also take some rest and if he performs after that, the doors of selection are always open.”

Afridi supported chief selector's decision to give a "chance" to youngsters and hoped to improve his form for prospective comeback.

Shehzad thanks Younus after leading K-P to Pakistan Cup trophy

The 46-year-old also explained the non-selection of his nephew Imamul Haq by saying: “His domestic record was not that good so I didn’t select him. Neither will I favour anyone nor do injustice; this is how things should be done.”

The chief selector, while replying to a query, said that Salman Butt and Muhammad Asif will be given a fair chance once they play a complete four-day season.

Support for Ajmal during Pakistan Cup merely academic

“Salman hasn’t played much cricket,” said Inzamam. “He should participate in a full four-day season. We haven’t ignored him. We are checking him. Same is for Asif.”

The training camp for the England tour will begin on May 14 and go on till June 4 ahead of the tour which starts in July.

Inzamam further said the training camp will be followed by a 10 to 15 day break. The players will then participate in a skill camp which will take place two weeks before the tour to England where Pakistan will play the first Test match on June 14.

Here is the list of the 35 players

Opening batsmen: Muhammad Hafeez*, Sami Aslam, Iftikhar Ahmed, Azhar Ali, Sharjeel Khan, Khurram Manzoor, Shan Masood

Middle order batsmen: Younus Khan, Misbahul Haq, Asad Shafiq, Shoaib Malik, Babar Azam, Harris Sohail*, Khalid Latif, Fawad Alam, Akbarur Rahman, Asif Zakir

All rounders: Anwar Ali, Bilawal Bhatti

Fast-bowlers: Mohammad Amir, Rahat Ali*, Imran Khan, Sohail Khan, Wahab Riaz, Junaid Khan, Hasan Ali

Wicketkeepers: Sarfraz Ahmed, Muhammad Rizwan, Adnan Akmal

Spinners: Yasir Shah, Zulfiqar Babar, Muhammad Ashgar, Imad Wasim*, Bilal Asif, Zohaib Khan

*Subject to Fitness

Here is the complete press conference



Unknown | 5 years ago | Reply @Ch. Allah Daad: I know punishing any incompetent or non performing person either in game or in government is so painful for PMLN supporters
NKAli | 5 years ago | Reply Great going Inzi. It never struck me you had it in you. Regarding 'disciplinary' issues of AShehzad and UAkmal, it must be a slip of the tongue. Anyway, now the ball will start rolling and maybe two out of three jokers will make a grand entrance. Salams
Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read