U19 Cricket World Cup: 16 teams finalised for Bangladesh event

Published: January 8, 2016


DUBAI: The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Friday announced that all 16 sides for this month’s ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2016 have now been confirmed.

The 11th edition of the tournament will be held across eight venues in four Bangladesh cities from January 27 to February 14, and will feature nine Test-playing countries as well as seven Associate and Affiliate Members, namely Afghanistan, Canada, Fiji, Ireland, Namibia, Nepal and Scotland.

The warm-up matches will be played from January 22-25.

The tournament will open with the match between defending champion South Africa and host nation Bangladesh at the Zohur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium (ZACS) in Chittagong and will culminate with the final at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur.

Pakistan blasts Australia withdrawal from junior World Cup

All matches will be day fixtures and will start at 0900 local time. The Super League semi-finals and final will have reserve days.

The squad-list reveals that as many as 18 cricketers will take part in their second successive ICC U19 Cricket World Cup.

Both Ireland and Nepal are returning to the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup after missing out on the 2014 event.

ICC seeks uniform decision review system

Fiji will be making its maiden appearance in Bangladesh after winning the East Asia-Pacific U19 Cricket Trophy in Blenheim, New Zealand, from 24-28 February. It has retained 13 players from that successful campaign.

And for the first time in the history of this competition, the ICC will produce live broadcast coverage of an unprecedented 20 matches.

Published in The Express Tribune, January 9th, 2016.

Like Sports on Facebook, follow @ETribuneSports on Twitter to stay informed and join in the conversation.

Facebook Conversations

More in Sports