PM health programme: National health insurance to be launched by year-end

3.1 million families living in 23 districts expected to benefit from the programme.

Sehrish Wasif July 15, 2015
A provision of Rs1 billion was included in the budget for launching the scheme on a pilot basis. PHOTO: AFP

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister’s National Health Insurance Programme is all set to be launched across the country by the end of this year.  It is estimated that as many as 3.1 million families living in 23 districts below the poverty line will benefit from PM’s National Health Insurance Programme.

Every year a large number of people in Pakistan suffer from various non-communicable diseases. Due to poverty they are unable to afford treatment cost and most of them die.

This scheme offers free of cost treatment for ailment like cardiovascular diseases, Diabetes Mellitus, Burma and RTA (life and limb saving treatment, implants, prosthesis). It will also cover end-stage renal diseases and dialysis, chronic infections (Hepatitis), organ failure (Hepatic, Renal, Cardiopulmonary) and cancer treatment (Chemo, Radio and Surgery).

This was discussed in a National Steering Committee Meeting of PM’s National Health Insurance Programme held on Tuesday. The committee was jointly chaired by the federal health minister Saira Afzal Tarar and Chairman, Privatisation Commission of Pakistan, Mohammad Zubair.

The PM approved this programme in June last year. A provision of Rs1 billion was included in the budget for launching the scheme on a pilot basis which will then be replicated in a large number of districts.

Federal health minister informed the participants that in the first phase the programme will provide free of cost access to hospital/indoor care to 3.1 million families. This will be spread across to families in 23 districts of Pakistan living below the poverty line both for 7 priority and secondary diseases. The districts included in this programme are Narowal, Khanewal, Sargodha, Rahim Yar Khan, Sheikhupura, Badin, Shaheed Benazirabad, Sanghar, Mardan, Malakand, Kohat and Chitral. In addition Quetta, Loralai, Lesbela, Kech, Muzaffarabad, Kotli, Diamer, Skardu, Bajaur Agency, Khyber Agency and ICT are also included.

Published in The Express Tribune, July 15th,  2015.


ziaurrehman | 9 years ago | Reply yes.. this is what we need the most!!
Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ