Celebrating literature: SLA selects best Sindhi writers for award

All these literary works were published in the year 2014

Press Release July 03, 2015
All these literary works were published in the year 2014. PHOTO: FILE


The Sindhi Language Authority selected the best Sindhi writers in eight separate genres for the annual award distribution ceremony on Thursday.

Rukhsana Preet Channar's 'Nigahun ja Sajda [Prostration of Eyes]', Anwar Baloch's 'Alishba' and Abbass Korejo's 'Pahenji dharti [Our Motherland]' were selected to be best works among the poetry, novel and story categories.

The award for the best non-fiction book and best biography will be given to Naseer Memon for his work 'Sindh jo case [The Case of Sindh]' and Badar Abro's 'Kaflo Halando Rahyo [Caravan Kept Moving)' respectively. Mohan Madhosh's 'Puna Express' excelled in the category of travelogues.

Abdul Qadir Junejo's work on translation, 'Adab: Andar Main Waithal Jin ain Bhoot [Literature: Deep-Seated Djinns and Bogeys in Subconscious]' and Sher Merani's research 'Shah Latif ji Shairi jo Jadeed Abhyas' [Modern Study of Shah Latif's Poetry]' have also been selected among their respective genres.

All these literary works were published in the year 2014. The SLA's chairperson, Sarfaraz Rajar, said that the selected authors will be given cash prizes and awards in a ceremony, which will be organised by the authority.

Published in The Express Tribune, July 4th, 2015.



Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read