By-elections: PTI unseats PML-N to win PP-72 Faislabad

PTI candidate Sheikh Khurram Shahzad defeated PML-N candidate Khwaja Liaquat.

Web Desk October 07, 2013
Faislabad is considered to be a PML-N's stronghold. PHOTO: AFP

FAISLABAD: Pakistani Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) won the PP-72 Faislabad constituency in the by-elections, Express News reported on Monday.

PTI candidate Sheikh Khurram Shahzad garnered a total of 23,973 votes according to unofficial results, defeating Pakistan Muslim League - Nawaz (PML-N) candidate.

The competing PML-N candidate Khwaja Liaquat could only get 17,626 votes.

The victory will earn the winning party an additional seat in the Punjab Assembly. The by-election results come as a surprise since Faislabad is considered to be a stronghold of PML-N.

Upon the announcement of the results, PTI supporters could be seen celebrating on the Jail Road, cricket bats in hand and carrying PTI flags.

The seat fell vacant when Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Khwaja Muhammad Islam’s degree did not receive the Higher Education Commission authentication. He had won the seat in the May 11 elections. A Faisalabad district and session judge is hearing a fake degree case against Islam.


Ch. Zafar Iqbal | 8 years ago | Reply

I am a PMLN supporter and demand fair election, PMLN will sweep all parties as it is Legacy of Shaheed Zia ul Haq sahab and we all want Islamic system in Pakistan only Mian Mohammad Nawaz Sharif is a capable and most intelligent leader.

A | 8 years ago | Reply

@Ali: We are all Pakistanis. Now one is muhajir. Its our sick mentality that we are facing these problems.

Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read