Awarding tickets: PML-Q names candidates for 10 NA, 19 Punjab Assembly seats

List of candidates for remaining constituencies to be announced soon.

Our Correspondent April 14, 2013
File photo of Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain. PHOTO: EXPRESS


The Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid has announced the names of its candidates for 10 National Assembly and 19 Punjab Assembly constituencies.

According to a press release issued on Saturday, PML-Q chief Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain finalised the names of candidates for 10 NA constituencies following seat adjustments with the Pakistan Peoples Party.

The release stated that Muhammad Saleem Baryar will be the PML-Q candidate for NA-112 Sialkot-III, Ali Amjad Malhi will run for NA-113 Sialkot-IV and Chaudhry Maqsood Ahmad Gujjar will contest NA-114 Sialkot-V. Dr Azeemuddin Lakhvi is the candidate for NA-140 Kasur-III, Sardar Muhammad Asif Nakai for NA-141 Kasur-IV, Sardar Talib Nakai for NA-142 Kasur-V, Rai Mohammad Aslam Kharal for NA-143 Okara-I and Pir Muhammad Shah Khagga for NA-164 Pakpattan-I. Tariq Bashir Cheema will run for both NA-186 Bahawalpur-IV and NA-187 Bahawalpur-V.

The names of candidates for 19 Punjab Assembly seats, meanwhile, were finalised by former deputy prime minister Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi, according to the PML-Q release.

The candidates include Bilal Mustafa Sheerazi for PP-127 Sialkot-VII, Bao Muhammad Rizwan for PP-128 Sialkot-VIII, Asad Hafeez for PP-129 Sialkot-IX, Azeem Noori Ghumman for PP-131 Sialkot-XI, Sardar Waqas Hassan Mokal for PP-180 Kasur-VI, Rao Zahid Qayyum for PP-181 Kasur-VII, Peer Mukhtar Ahmad for PP-182 Kasur-VIII, Sardar Asif Nakai for PP-183 Kasur-IX, Muhammad Mumtaz Khalid for PP-184 Kasur-X, Malik Sarfaraz Ahmad Bhatti for PP-185 Okara-I, Pir Ghulam Mohyuddin for PP-189 Okara-V, Dr Shehryar Mokal for PP-192 Okara-VIII, Ahmad Shah Khagga for PP-229 Pakpattan-III, Bilal Mustafa Gardezi for PP-273 Bahawalpur, Chaudhry Riaz Ahmad for PP-274 Bahawalpur-VIII, Chaudhry Ehsanul Haq for PP-275 Bahawalpur-IX and Dr Mohammad Afzal for PP-276 Bahawalpur-X.

Published in The Express Tribune, April 14th, 2013.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read