Detractors of democracy have failed: Zardari

Emphasis that Ashraf must solve the energy, unemployment, inflation, law and order issues on priority basis.

Web Desk June 22, 2012

ISLAMABAD: After administrating the oath to newly elected Prime Minister Raja Pervez Ashraf at the presidency on Friday, President Asif Ali Zardari said that those wanting to detract democracy had been defeated thanks to the collected wisdom of the members of national assembly.

“The detractors of democracy have long been hounding the former prime minister Yousaf Raza Gilani. They thought the coalition will not be able to agree to a new leader of the house, they thought the house would be sent packing and create political uncertainty. They have been proven wrong,” the President proudly declared.

“The collected wisdom of the elected national assembly has proven them wrong - I salute their wisdom,” Zardari beamed.

Solve energy crisis

With the clamour for solving the energy crisis growing day by day, Zardari, who has seen the Opposition parties feed off the public anger to knock on his party’s popularity just months before the general election, called on Pervez Ashraf to solve the crisis on priority basis.

“The problems of power shortage to be addressed on a priority basis.”

However, this was not the only area of concern, and Zardari went on to high light that “there are other issues of great concern to  the common people. There are issues of inflation, unemployment and law and order.”

“I hope the new government headed by Raja Pervez Ashraf will address all these issues with zeal and determination.”

Federal, State ministers take oath

Twenty-seven Ministers and eleven Ministers of State also took oath.

The Federal Ministers who took oath included: Rana Farooq Saeed‚ Sardar Al-Haj Muhammad Umar Gorgage‚ Firdous Ashiq Awan‚ Hina Rabbani Khar‚ Samina Khalid Ghurki‚ Makhdoom Shahabuddin‚ Syed Naveed Qamar‚ Farzana Raja‚ Engineer Shaukatullah‚ Syed Khursheed Shah‚ Mir Hazar Khan Bijarani‚ Babar Khan Ghauri‚ Israrullah Zehri‚ Arbab Alamgir‚ Ghulam Ahmad Bilour‚ Qamar Zaman Kaira‚ Farooq H Naek‚ Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi‚ Makhdoom Amin Faheem‚ Abdul Hafeez Shaikh‚ Chaudhry Ahmad Mukhtar‚ Mian Manzoor Watto‚ Nazar Muhammad Gondal‚ Dr Farooq Sattar‚ Haji Khuda Bakhsh Rajar‚ Maula Bakhsh Chandio and Changez Jamali.

The Ministers of State who took oath are Tasneem Ahmad Qureshi‚ Chaudhary Imtiaz Safdar Warraich‚ Abbas Khan Afridi‚ Dost Muhammad Mazari‚ Saleem Haider Khan‚ Nawabzada Malik Ammad Khan‚ Moazzam Ali Jatoi‚ Malik Azmat Khan‚ Syed Samsam Ali Bukhari‚ Dr Nadeem Ahsan and Raheela Baloch.

The ceremony was attended by Speaker National Assembly Dr Fehmida Mirza‚ Chairman Senate Syed Nayyar Hussain Bukhari‚ Parliamentarians and high ranking officials including former Prime Minister Yousaf Raza Gilani.



F-16 | 9 years ago | Reply

Land of the pure ‘conspiracies and denials’ at its best work.

LionOfPunjab | 9 years ago | Reply

I am not a zardari/ppp supporter but i have to admit he is way too clever than the other politicians (specially the 90days gyu). I wish he had channeled his cleverness in awam's benefit.

Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read