Fifth ODI: Pakistan wrap up Sri Lanka series with three-wicket win

Umar Akmal and Misbahul Haq guide Pakistan home.

Afp November 23, 2011

ABU DHABI: Pakistan wrapped up the last of the five match limited overs one day international against Sri Lanka with a three-wicket win in Abu Dhabi to run away with the series 4-1.

After restricting Sri Lanka to 218 for nine, Pakistan started brightly but were quickly forced on to the back foot when opener Mohammad Hafeez fell to Dilhara Fernando for 14 with Pakistan on 25.

Asad Shafiq and incoming batsman Younus Khan tried to stabilise the innings, however, Shafiq was trapped leg-before-wicket by Mathews with the score only on 50. This prompted the captain, Misbahul Haq to march out on to the pitch. He and Khan shared a 61 run partnership to give the team a solid grounding.

With Younus Khan's departure, Misbah shared a 97-run partnership with Umar Akmal which all but won the match for Pakistan. Misbah, who had been given a number of let offs by a sloppy Sri Lankan outfield, shortly after completing his half century tried to play a reverse sweep. He mistimed it, taking a top edge to the first man behind square.

With the target in sight, Umar Akmal stepped up, getting his half century before dispatching it past mid-on for a four, getting Pakistan exactly the amount of runs needed for victory.

Umar Akmal was named man of the match, while Shahid Afridi was named man of the series.

Kumar Sangakkara and Angelo Mathews hit fighting half-centuries as Sri Lanka reached 218-9 off their allotted 50 overs in the fifth and final day-night international against Pakistan at the Abu Dhabi stadium on Wednesday.

Sangakkara scored 78 while Mathews made 61 during their innings-repairing fifth wicket stand of 118 before Sri Lanka lost track, with only a late order batting fightback helping them to a fighting total.

Sri Lanka, who trail 3-1 in the five-match series, were reduced to 46-4 after they decided to bat under overcast conditions which the Pakistani seam attack took full advantage of, grabbing four early wickets by 11th over.

Paceman Sohail Tanveer, who took 4-34, had opener Upul Tharanga (three) and Dinesh Chandimal (seven) in his first spell while Umar Gul accounted for Sri Lankan skipper Tillakaratne Dilshan (12) - all three caught behind the wicket.

First change Junaid Khan dismissed Chamara Silva (one) to leave the fight to Sangakkara and Mathews who slowly built the innings against some quality pace and spin bowling.

Sangakkara hit eight boundaries during his 99-ball knock - his 67th one-day half-century - before he miscued a drive off spinner Mohammad Hafeez and was caught at extra cover by Misbah-ul Haq.

Mathews, who hit two boundaries and two sixes off 101 balls, was bowled round his legs by off-spinner Saeed Ajmal.

Thisara Perera (25) added 34 runs for the eighth wicket with Seekkuge Prasanna who made eight not out.

Pakistan, who won the first, third and fourth matches in the series, made three changes to their line up. They rested opener Imran Farhat, Aizaz Cheema and Sarfraz Ahmed to bring in Tanveer, Junaid Khan and Asad Shafiq.

Sri Lanka were forced to bring in Silva for Mahela Jayawardene who returned home due to a knee injury.

Earlier Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat in the fifth and final day-night international against Pakistan.

Sri Lanka were forced to bring in batsman Chamara Silva for Mahela Jayawardene who returned home after injuring his knee in the fourth match.

Pakistan, who have an unbeatable 3-1 lead, made three changes from the line-up which won the fourth match by 26 runs in Sharjah on Sunday, bringing in paceman Junaid Khan, batsman Asad Shafiq and allrounder Sohail Tanvir for Aizaz Cheema, Sarfraz Ahmed and Imran Farhat.

Pakistan won the first match by eight wickets and the third by 21 runs while Sri Lanka were victorious in the second match by 25 runs - all three matches played in Dubai.

Pakistan: Misbah-ul Haq (capt), Mohammad Hafeez, Asad Shafiq, Younis Khan, Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Shahid Afridi, Sohail Tanvir, Junaid Khan, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal

Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dislahn (capt), Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara, Chamara Silva, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, Jeevan Mendis, Sekkugge Prasanna, Dilhara Fernando, Lasith Malinga, Thissara Perera

Umpires: Marias Erasmus (RSA) and Ahsan Raza (PAK)

TV umpire: Richard Illingworth (ENG)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)



antanu | 9 years ago | Reply

@Gunawardane: We should not blame SL for the series lost. Pakistan was a better team particularly in bowling department...further we must avoid criticizing Dilshan...there are 11 players in a team who have to all it was a good series...closely contested except for first ODI.Both the teams are trying to resurrect their status and will learn a lot from this series.Good luck to both the teams..

Word Life | 9 years ago | Reply

@ Gunawardane, It is your point of view, apparently, Cricket Fans here do not agree with you

Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read