Imran, other PTI leaders issued contempt notices for ‘insulting’ CEC

Electoral body also directs Fawad Chaudhry and Asad Umar to appear before it on August 31

Saqib Virk August 19, 2022
PTI Chairman Imran Khan with party leaders during a meeting. Photo: Facebook/PTIOfficial


The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Friday issued contempt notices to PTI leaders Imran Khan, Fawad Chaudhry and Asad Umar for levelling allegations at the electoral body and Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Sikander Sultan Raja.

The electoral body directed the opposition leaders to appear before it in person or submit their response through their lawyers on August 31.

The ECP spokesperson said in a statement that notices were issued to the PTI chief Imran Khan for using “insulting and unparliamentary remarks” against the electoral body in various speeches.

The commission said it issued notices after reviewing speeches of the PTI leaders which was provided by the Pakistan Electronic Media Regulatory Authority (Pemra) on the electoral body’s request.

The ECP has sought clarification from the PTI leaders on allegations hurled against it.

Also read: ECP seeks footage of Imran’s speeches

Imran, the former premier, has time and again accused the ECP and it chief of being biased and demanded CEC Raja to step down.

Imran also accused the ECP chief of siding with the ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) against the PTI.

Last month, the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf decided to file a ‘judicial reference’ against CEC Raja and other members of the Election Commission of Pakistan for allegedly violating code of conduct.

Former premier Imran had formally directed his legal team to initiate the process of filing the reference against the CEC and ECP members for meeting a delegation of the ruling alliance and discussing the prohibited funding case against PTI with them.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read