*checks calendar. pours coffee*. OK. Let’s do this. No, we can’t see your personal messages. No, we won’t delete your account. Yes, you can accept at any time.— WhatsApp (@WhatsApp) May 14, 2021
WhatsApp initially set a deadline of February 8, 2021, however, the date was extended after receiving backlash from users and privacy activists who questioned the company’s “accept our data grab or get out” move on Twitter.
For the last several weeks WhatsApp displayed a notification in the app providing more information about the update. After giving everyone time to review, and reminding those who haven’t had the chance to do so to review and accept, the reminder people receive will become persistent, WhatsApp revealed on its blog.
"At that time, you’ll encounter limited functionality on WhatsApp until you accept the updates. This will not happen to all users at the same time," said WhatsApp.
"You won’t be able to access your chat list, but you can still answer incoming phone and video calls. If you have notifications enabled, you can tap on them to read or respond to a message or call back a missed phone or video call."
"After a few weeks of limited functionality, you won’t be able to receive incoming calls or notifications and WhatsApp will stop sending messages and calls to your phone."
"You can export your chats and download a report of your account on your own. If you need help downloading a report of your account or deleting your account, you can contact us here."
Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.
For more information, please see our Comments FAQ