HEC tightens criteria for degree-awarding bodies

Puts the list of approved universities on its website.

Express August 06, 2011


The Higher Education Commission (HEC) has introduced a new rating system for the private sector universities and those that do not meet the minimum criteria set by the commission would not be allowed to offer admissions in fall 2011.

Such institutes would also be removed from HEC list.

“The degrees awarded by these universities will also not be recognised by the commission,” said a press release issued here on Friday by the HEC.

The categorisation of the educational institutes will be carried out with the help of alphabets, with W being the minimum baseline requirement for a university and the institutes with an X, Y or a Z category will cease to operate.

“W category is not the “highest ranking” as advertised by the most universities rather it is the minimum criteria required of them to admit students and award degrees,” said an official.

As per the new arrangements, to provide “better educational facilities”, the commission has devised a new criteria under which the universities meeting the minimum HEC requirement will be awarded a W-1 category while those with far superior academic, financial and physical infrastructure will be awarded a W-4 category, which is now the “highest rating”.

The revised rating of such universities will be disseminated through print and electronic media by October, the press release said. As per HEC approved criteria, the universities are required to meet a certain criteria for the award of W category by June 30, 2010. The institutions not meeting the requirements and based on inspection of HEC prior to June 30, 2010 were placed in X, Y and Z categories.

The list of all universities that received a rating of “W” and their approved campuses are placed on the HEC website.

Published in The Express Tribune, August 6th, 2011.