Chairperson, members of Public Safety Commission announced

Published: September 12, 2019
Sindh police PHOTO: FILE

Sindh police PHOTO: FILE

KARACHI: The names of the chairperson and 12 members of the Public Safety Commission formed under Police Order 2002 were announced in a notification issued on Wednesday.

The home minister will be the committee’s chairperson. The MPAs, who will be members of the commission, include Sharjeel Inam Memon, Imdad Ali Pitafi, Shamim Mumtaz, Shahnaz Begum, Muhammad Ali Aziz and Hasnain Ali Mizra. The other members are Karamat Ali, Nazim Haji, Barrister Haya Eman Zahid, Rubina Brohi, Advocate Jhamat Mal and Qurban Ali Malano. Six of these members were nominated by the opposition, another six were nominated by the Sindh government and a separate committee had appointed the other six members from civil society.

The Sindh Assembly approved the draft for the restoration of Police Order 2002 in June 2019. New police rules will be enforced in the province under this law.

District public safety commissions will be established in all districts of Sindh after the formation of the Sindh Public Safety Commission which will be the decision-making forum for issues pertaining to police performance, citizens’ complaints against the police and other issues.

Published in The Express Tribune, September 12th, 2019.

Facebook Conversations

Leave Your Reply Below

Your comments may appear in The Express Tribune paper. For this reason we encourage you to provide your city. The Express Tribune does not bear any responsibility for user comments.

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive. For more information, please see our Comments FAQ.

More in Sindh