Punjab govt appoints 38 spokespersons

New appointees will not receive financial benefits from the government

Our Correspondent May 31, 2019
Punjab Chief Minister Usman Buzdar. PHOTO: FILE

LAHORE: The provincial government has appointed 38 spokespersons in order to defend its stance and bring its successful policies to the public’s attention.

The initiative was taken on the directives of Prime Minister Imran Khan and Chief Minister Usman Buzdar.

Provincial Minister for Information and Culture Samsam Bukhari issued the notification of the appointment. As per notification, Syed Samsam Ali Shah Bukhari, Aijaz Chaudhry, Umar Sarfaraz Cheema, Usman Darr, Farrukh Najeeb, Raja Basharat, Mian Mehmoodur Rasheed, Dr Yasmin Rashid, Mian Aslam Iqbal, Samiullah Chaudhry, Hashim Jawan Bakht, Dr Murad Raas, Ansar Majeed, Humayon Yasir, Muhammad Sibtain, Colonel (retd) Hashim Dogar, Shehbaz Gill, Salman Shah, Fayyazul Hassan Chauhan, Faisal Hayat, Musarrat Jamshed Cheema, Uzma Kardar, Sadia Sohail, Seemaba Tahir, Momina Waheed, Mohammad Ahmed Bhutta, Shaukat Basra, Momin Agha, Mohammad Aslam Dogar, Muhammad Irfan, Muhammad Naveed, Malik Mohammad Azam, Usman Saeed Basra, Atif Chaudhry, Waqar Toot, Robins Francis, Zarqa Soharwardi and Ayesha Chaudhry, have been appointed.

According to the governmental sources, the spokesperson will issue statements regarding governmental policies, programmes and their progress. A Whatsapp group has also been made for them to communicate and share information and guidelines with each other. Bukhari will lead the group.

Moreover, the spokespersons will sit in different departments and will not get any financial benefits from the government. Sources said that the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf government has appointed these spokespersons so that they also deal with allegations leveled by the opposition.

Published in The Express Tribune, May 31st, 2019.

Facebook Conversations


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ

Load Next Story