Arif Nizami elected new CPNE president

Published: May 3, 2019

ISLAMABAD: In the Council of Pakistan Newspaper Editors’ (CPNE) annual election on Thursday, the members elected Pakistan Today’s chief editor Arif Nizami as the body’s president and Awami Awaz’s chief editor Dr Jabbar Khattak as its secretary general.

Daily Khabrain’s editor Imtinan Shahid was elected as the CPNE’s senior vice president, 92 Media Group’s group editor Irshad Ahmed Arif elected as vice president (Punjab), monthly Defence Journal’s  chief editor Ikram Sehgal as vice president (Sindh), daily Taqat’s chief editor Rehmat Ali Razi as vice president (Islamabad), daily Intekhab’s chief editor Anwar Sajidi as vice president (Balochistan) and daily Frontier Star’s chief editor Hafiz Sanaullah Khan as vice president (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa).

The members also elected monthly Kiran’s chief editor Amir Mehmood as deputy secretary general, daily Ittehad’s chief editor Tahir Farooq as joint secretary (K-P), daily Balochistan Express’s chief editor Arif Baloch as joint secretary (Balochistan), daily Ghareeb’s [Faisalabad] chief editor Tanveer Shaukat as joint secretary (Punjab), daily Pak’s editor Ghulam Nabi Chandio as joint secretary (Sindh), Sabah News Agency’s Shakeel Turabi as joint secretary (Islamabad), daily Aman’s editor Hamid Hussain Abidi as finance secretary and daily Indus Post’s Abdul Rehman Mangaryo as information secretary.

After the election, the CPNE President Arif Nizami said the council’s struggle for media was commendable. He said he and the newly elected committee would have to counter challenges to media so that media and journalism could be free from all sorts of political and state pressures.

In the CPNE’s annual general meeting, media’s and journalists’ situation in country was also discussed and in this regard many important decisions were taken and resolutions approved. The CPNE will issue details of these decisions today (Friday).

The CPNE newly elected standing committee’s meeting, chaired by the CPNE President Arif Nizami, elected the councils’ office-bearers. Prior to this, the new standing committee’s 44 members were also elected.

These include Arif Nizami, Imtinan Shahid, Irshad Ahmed Arif, Dr Jabbar Khattak, monthly Kiran’s chief editor Amir Mehmood, Ikram Sehgal, Rehmat Ali Anwar Sajidi, Ghulam Nabi Chandio, Hamid Hussain Abidi, Hafiz Sanaullah Khan, Tanveer Shaukat, daily Indus Post’s editor in chief Abdul Rehman Mangaryo, daily Nai Baat’s editor Maqsood Yousufi, daily Appeal’s chief editor Sher Mohammad Kharro, daily Jurrat’s chief editor Mohammad Tahir, daily Express’s group editor Ayaz Khan, daily Hotline’s chief editor Zulfiqar Ahmed Rahat, Daily Times managing editor Kazim Khan, daily Din’s editor Danish Sohail, daily Lead Pakistan’s chief editor Yahya Khan Sadozai, Shakeel Ahmed Turabi, daily Islam Group’s editor Khaleelur Rehman, daily Ittehad’s chief editor Tahir Farooq, daly Azadi Swat’s chief editor Mumtaz Ahmed Sadiq, daily Surat-e-Haal’s chief editor Zubair Mehmood, daily Wafa Bahawalpur’s chief editor Akmal Chauhan, daily Jahan Numa’s editor Waqas Tariq, Arif Baloch, daily Mehran’s chief editor Faqir Manthar Mangariyo, daily Nijaat’s editor Bashir Ahmed Memon, Online News Agency’s editor Abdul Khaliq Ali, daily Alfalah’s chief editor Shams ul Zuha Shah, daily Leader’s Ali Ahmed Dhillon, daily Azkar’s editor Tazaeen Akhtar, daily Quaid’s editor Sardar Naeem, weekly Takbeer’s chief editor Rafique Afghan, monthly Naye Uffaq’s chief editor Mushtaq Ahmed Qureshi, monthly Dosheeza’s chief editor Munazza Siham, monthly Ferozan’s editor Mehmood Alam Khalid, monthly Hospitality Plus’ chief editor Ahmed Shafique, monthly Naya Rukh’s chief editor Sardar Khan Niazi and daily Sindh Affairs’ editor Bilquees Jahan.

Facebook Conversations

More in Pakistan