Govt mulls placing Kamran Michael on no-fly list

Cabinet’s special sub-committee on ECL presents its recommendations

Naeem Asghar March 16, 2019
Former minister for ports and shipping Kamran Michael. PHOTO: FILE

ISLAMABAD: A special sub-committee of the federal cabinet on Exit Control List (ECL) on Saturday recommended adding Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader and former minister for ports and shipping Kamran Michael’s name to the no-fly list.

The recommendations to put Michael and PTM member Jalila Haider on ECL was prepared after due diligence, sources privy to the development told The Express Tribune.

The committee also suggested removing names of former National Database and Registration Authority (Nadra) chairman Tariq Malik and former Sindh minister Imtiaz Sheikh from the no-fly list.

Meanwhile, the matter of placing OGDCL MD Zahid Mir and former secretaries industries Zameer Ahmed and Sohail Ahmed Siyal on ECL has been deferred.

Kamran Michael sent to jail on remand

The recommendations will be forwarded to the federal cabinet and implemented on its approval.

Last month, Michael was arrested by the National Accountability Bureau (NAB) for allegedly misusing his authority as a federal minister in illegal allotment of Karachi Port Trust land.

The PML-N leader has been a senator on a minority seat since 2012. He was a minister in the governments of former premiers Nawaz Sharif and Shahid Khaqan Abbasi.

In May 2018, NAB had reportedly launched a probe against Michael for allegedly accumulating assets beyond known sources of income during his stint as the ports and shipping minister.

Facebook Conversations