Six inducted in PM Imran's cabinet

Three state and three federal ministers were administered the oath by President Arif Alvi

News Desk September 11, 2018
President Arif Alvi administers the oath to new ministers. PHOTO:FILE

Prime Minister Imran Khan's cabinet was expanded by six on Tuesday as three federal and three state ministers were administered the oath in a ceremony held at the President's House.

The oath was administered by President Arif Alvi. Omer Ayub, Ali Muhammad Khan Mehar and Syed Ali Haider Zaidi were sworn in as federal ministers while Muhammad Shabir Ali, Murad Saeed and Muhammad Hammad Azhar took the mantle of state ministers.

Four more ministers to be inducted into federal cabinet

The portfolios assigned to the ministers will be announced later.

Omar Ayub Khan was a minister of state for finance in Shaukat Aziz’s cabinet. He joined PTI in February 2018.

Balochistan cabinet expands as two more ministers inducted

Ali Zaidi is an old-timer who joined PTI in 1999. During his association with the party spanning nearly two decades, he contested general elections thrice on a PTI ticket – in 2002, 2013 and 2018. Zaidi has also held several senior party positions, including that of the president of the PTI's Karachi region.

Murad Saeed is also an old face and is considered a diehard activist of the PTI.

PM Imran in the past strongly criticised the last federal government of the PML-N for keeping a large-sized cabinet and over half-a-dozen special assistants.


Facebook Conversations


BrainBro | 1 year ago | Reply | Recommend Check Murad Saeed's degree.
Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ

Load Next Story