ECP notifies Imran Khan's NA-131 victory

The electoral body has also issued notifications for NA 108, NA-90, PB-38 and PK-4

Irfan Ghauri August 09, 2018

ISLAMABAD: The Election Commission of Pakistan on Thursday issued victory notifications for three more National Assembly constituencies and two provincial constituencies.

The election commission issued a victory notification for Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf chairman Imran Khan from NA-131 Lahore after the Supreme Court suspended Lahore High Court’s directives for a recount in the constituency.

Imran was declared winner in the constituency securing more votes than Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s Khwaja Saad Rafique after a recount.

ECP denies receiving Rafique’s appeal for NA-131 recount

The Elections Commission of Pakistan also issued notifications for NA-108, NA-90, PB-38 and PK-4.

A recount of Faisalabad’s NA-108 confirmed PTI’s Farrukh Habib’s win. PML-N’s Abid Sher Ali’s had petitioned the Lahore High Court for a second recount in NA-108 and his plea was rejected earlier today.

Notices issued in Saad Rafique’s vote recount petition

Ali had claimed that ECP’s form 45 was forged in favour of his rival and PML-N polling agents were kicked out while the votes were being counted. Ali had requested the court to order a recount and issue a notification to halt Habib’s victory.

In the NA-90 (Sargodha III) recount, PML-N’s Chaudhry Muhammad Hamid Hameed once again received the most votes. PML-N’s Mir Naimatullah Zehri secured the PB-38 (Shaheed Sikandarabad) seat and PTI’s Aziz Ullah Khan won in PK-4 (Swat III) in their respective recounts.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read