ECP issues notification for delimitation of constituencies in Karachi

Published: March 22, 2013

Election commission delimits eight provincial assembly constituencies and three national ones in Karachi.

KARACHI: The Election Commission of Pakistan issued a notification for delimitation of some constituencies in Karachi, Express News reported on Friday.

According to the notification, three constituencies of National Assembly and eight constituencies of the Provincial Assembly will be subject to delimitation.

These include NA 239 (won by Abdul Qadir Patel of PPPP), NA250 (won by Khushbakht Shujaat of MQM), and NA254 (won by Dr Muhammad Ayub Sheikh of MQM). Following constituencies were included on the provincial level, PS89, PS112, PS113, PS114, PS116, PS118 and PS124.

The Election Commission of Pakistan has set up a five-member committee to implement the Supreme Court orders for delimitations in Karachi. According to the sources, Justice (r) Roshan Esani will head the committee.

Other members include provincial election commissioner Sindh Mehboob Anwar, election commissioner Karachi Tanweer Zaki, election commissioner Hyderabad Attaur Rehman, election commissioner Rawalpindi Zahoor Pasha and deputy election commissioner Islamabad Ali Abdullah.

The Most Popular News of the day in your Inbox daily.

More in Sindh