Preliminary re-poll results: PTI takes the lead in Peshawar district

ANP comes to fore in Swabi; QWP, PTI and JI to form district govt in Charsadda

Our Correspondent July 31, 2015
ANP comes to fore in Swabi; QWP, PTI and JI to form district govt in Charsadda. PHOTO: EXPRESS

KARAK/ SWABI/ HANGU/ KOHAT/ PESHAWAR/ CHARSADDA: The stage is set for performance evaluation as unofficial results for local government re-polls pour in.

According to preliminary results released on Friday, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf has once again streaked ahead of its political rivals in Peshawar district. The party has clinched 51 district council seats.

At least 25 seats were secured by independent candidates, 14 by Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl and nine by Awami National Party. Meanwhile, Jamaat-e-Islami and Qaumi Watan Party have won three district councils.

PTI has also secured 25 tehsil council seats. At least 27 seats have been clinched by independent candidates, 15 by JUI-F, 11 by ANP, four by QWP and three by PPP.


In Swabi district, ANP has come to the fore as a prominent party after LG re-polling was completed at 17 polling stations of nine union councils. Swabi has in total 56 union councils.

The party bagged 24 district council seats. PTI managed to clinch 10 while JUI-F, Awami Jamhoori Ittehad Pakistan, QWP and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz won seven, five, three, and two seats each. On the other hand, JI and PPP managed to clinch one seat each. Three independent candidates also bagged district council seat.

ANP won two council seats of Swabi tehsil. PTI and JI bagged four each while PPP, JUI-F, PML-N and an independent candidate won one each.

PTI secure eight seats of the total 11 of Topi tehsil while PML-N and JUI-F took two and one seat, respectively.

In Chota Lahor tehsil, out of 11 seats, PTI secured four while ANP, JUI-F and PML-N bagged three, two and two seats respectively.

ANP has secured 10 out of 20 tehsil council seats in Razar. AJIP bagged four, PTI three while JUI-F, JI and PPP gained one seat each.


JUI-F was in the lead in Hangu district with eight district council seats. According to the unofficial result, PTI clinched seven. Meanwhile, in Tall tehsil, JUI-F won six seats, PTI gained two and an independent candidate secured one.

There were 10 total seats in Hangu tehsil council. JUI-F took five, PTI three, and ANP and an independent took one each in the tehsil council.


Supporters of independent candidate Ishraq Khan took to the streets of Kohat and accused the administration of altering election results.

Ishraq had been deemed successful in Dheri Bandha polling stations in Kharmato union council a day earlier.

According to protesters, Thursday night’s results indicated the independent candidate had 2,095 votes while his opponents had 2,060. However, the results were altered in his opponent’s the following morning.


As per unofficial results, QWP, PTI and JI are likely to form the government in districts and two tehsils of Charsadda.

Overall, QWP, PTI and JI have bagged 25 seats in 49 union councils, while ANP and JUI-F and PPP have clinched 23. One seat remains disputed among PTI and QWP.


Re-polling at a polling station in Girls High School Khurram in Nari Panoos union council of Karak did not take place owing to a stay order from the court.

PTI candidate Fahim Khattak, who had won the May 30 elections from the union council, had approached the court for a stay order against re-polls. Khattak deemed re-polling illogical at the polling station.

Residents believe Khattak allegedly took this step because his chances for winning the re-polls appeared slim.

According to unofficial results from polling stations where voting did take place in Karak, PTI won seven district council seats, while JUI-F and ANP won five and one, respectively. On the tehsil level, PTI has won three seats while independent candidates and JUI-F bagged two each. PML-N and JI clinched one seat each.

Published in The Express Tribune, August 1st, 2015. 


Smitha871 | 6 years ago | Reply mometasone spray over counter abcegegcdebgkcab
Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read