PTI's newly elected town councilors resign to protest Afridi's arrest

Around 30 newly elected district councilors and 17 town councilors ask party chief Imran Khan to take notice

Our Correspondent July 13, 2015
Town councilor Irfan Saleem addressing a press conference in Peshawar on Monday. PHOTO: NNI

PESHAWAR: Around 30 newly elected district councilors and 17 town councilors of Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf (PTI) have submitted their resignations as part of a protest against the arrest of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa minister for Mines and Mineral Ziaullah Afridi.

PTI town councilor Irfan Saleem along with other newly elected town and district councilors held a news conference at Peshawar press club on Monday where they criticised the KP government, and raised slogans against Chief Minister Pervez Khattak. They asked PTI chief Imran Khan to take notice of Afridi’s arrest by the Ehtisab Commission.

Afridi had been arrested by the K-P Ehtisab Commission last week for misappropriation of funds and misuse of authority. The arrest and subsequent stance of the party has divided PTI workers into groups.

“They have framed false charges against the ministers,” Saleem said, adding that “the ehtisab commission had become ‘Khattak Commission’ which frames charges against those who the CM considers as hurdles in the way of his personal interests.”

“We will stand by the law and will secure justice for the arrested minister.”

Saleem was joined by Malik Awan from UC Khalisa, Malik Aslam, Kamran Bangash from UC-9, Malik Aslam and several other party workers and elected members. All the resigning MPA were from Town 1 and from Town, with a majority from PK1 and PK2.

“We have the support of 12 members of provincial assembly (MPAs) and national assembly against the CM on this issue,” Saleem claimed.


khan | 6 years ago | Reply clearly they are not supporter of PTI they are supporter of zia ullah afridi so no place for that kind of people in party. PTI is against corruption and corrupt people AND THEIR FLLOWERS so good by mr saleem make sure you dont come back and you can join ANP, PPP, PMLN, you belong to them not PTI.
Asad Sheikh | 6 years ago | Reply Such people would never let an institution function properly. EC has arrested him and will put its case before court and public. To jump to conclusions that this is being done by the CM or there is some other motive behind this is the kind of thinking which hinders the accountability process in Pakistan.
Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read