LG poll results: Nawaz’s party pulls a neck ahead in Swat

PTI leads at tehsil level; PML-N’s reserved seats help it gain majority in district

Sherinzada July 05, 2015
PTI leads at tehsil level; PML-N’s reserved seats help it gain majority in district. PHOTO: EXPRESS

SWAT: The Election Commission of Pakistan released the list of winners of reserved seats in Swat, showing the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) led the way with 16 successful candidates at the district council level. The central ruling party also bagged the most (43) seats overall.

The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf followed closely behind on the reserved seats front with 14 berths and remained second overall with a strength of 38. Meanwhile, the Awami National Party, which only managed to get three of its reserved candidates elected, had 11 winners.

The break-up of PML-N’s 16 seats showed that women managed to clinch 10 berths, while two each were taken by labourer, youth and minority candidates.

Meanwhile, of PTI’s share of 14 reserved seats, eight were won by women while labourers clinched two. The youth and minorities also took two seats each for the Imran Khan-led party. The ANP’s reserved were only won by women.

Banking on independents

From the district-level results, PML-N held a clear majority after five independent candidates also joined the party. It won 22 general seats and 16 reserved berths in addition to the independents. At the same time, PTI lured two independent candidates, bringing its strength to 38.

PTI leads tehsils

At the tehsil level, the PTI is in the lead with 45 seats and a majority in five of the seven towns. The party managed to win 24 general seats and 21 reserved seats. In second place was ANP with 12 general seats and 6 reserved seats, bringing its strength to 18.  There are 101 district councillors in Swat and the same number of tehsil councillors.

Published in The Express Tribune, July 6th, 2015. 


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ