New Zealand name Test squad

Published: October 25, 2010
Selectors delay 
naming one-day team for Indian tour

Selectors delay naming one-day team for Indian tour

WELLINGTON: New Zealand selectors announced a 15-man team for next month’s three-Tests against India. However, they have held back on naming the one-day squad as recriminations continue over New Zealand’s recent 4-0 whitewash against Bangladesh.

The two new Test players included are batsman Kane Williamson and fast-bowler Hamish Bennett. Coach Mark Greatbatch said the pair deserved their step up to Test status after showing promise in Bangladesh, where Williamson scored his maiden One-Day International (ODI) century.

Batsman Mathew Sinclair is the only player missing from New Zealand’s last Test appearance, against Australia in March. Greatbatch said the Test side was not exempt from the one-day debacle in Bangladesh. “We’re well aware that our performances are not up to scratch and we need to improve.”

The Tests are in Ahmedabad on November 4, Hyderabad on November 12 and Nagpur on November 28. A revised squad for the five ODIs will be named closer to the opening game, at Guwahati on November 28.


Daniel Vettori (captain), Brent Arnel, Hamish Bennett, Martin Guptill, Gareth Hopkins, Chris Martin, Brendon McCullum, Tim McIntosh, Andy McKay, Jeetan Patel, Jesse Ryder, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, BJ Watling, Kane Williamson.

Published in The Express Tribune, October 25th, 2010.

Facebook Conversations

More in Sports