Cream of the crop: HEC confers 63 Best University Teacher awards

The awards include a certificate of merit and cash prize of Rs100,000.

Riazul Haq August 22, 2013
The awards include a certificate of merit and cash prize of Rs100,000. PHOTO: FILE


The Higher Education Commission (HEC) conferred Best University Teacher awards on 63 private and public sector university faculty members for 2011 in recognition of their contributions to education at a special ceremony on Wednesday.

The commission received 153 nominations from higher education institutions located all across the country.

After scrutinising the candidates and undergoing a comprehensive evaluation, 63 teachers were shortlisted by the selection committee.  The award includes a certificate of merit and a cash prize of Rs100,000.

Minister of State for Education, Training and Standards in Higher Education Mian Muhammad Balighur Rehman was the chief guest at the awards ceremony.

He commended the HEC for launching a programme that recognises teachers’ valuable contributions.

Such programmes would act as a catalyst for other aspiring teachers who want to excel in the field of research, he added.

Rehman urged teachers to act as role models for their colleagues and students.  He assured that the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz-led government would undertake several steps to raise the status of teachers in society, as mentioned in the party’s manifesto.

HEC Chairperson Javaid Laghari said faculty members are at the heart and soul of the country’s higher education system and that institutions’ reputation depends on their performance.

Laghari urged faculty members to ensure the quality of teaching and research improves progressively. He also underlined the importance of a maintaining a strong link between universities and society.

Thus far, HEC has conferred 368 awards over a period of eight years under this programme, according to Dr Mukhtar Ahmed, the commission’s executive director.

The Best University Teachers Award Programme was initiated in 2004 to improve the quality of education and enhance universities’ efficiencies. The programme provides monetary incentives to university teachers.

Published in The Express Tribune, August 22nd, 2013.


Prof M Subhan Qureshi | 8 years ago | Reply

The awardees include Dr Asad Naeem, Prof Dr Abdul Rashid Naeem, Muhammad Ayub Siddiqui, Dr Nasro Min-Allah, Dr Abdul Majeed Khan, Dr Irshad Ahmad Arshad, Col Dr Muhammad Khan, Dr Zahid Rizwan, Dr Shaheena Ayub Bhatti, Dr Muhammad Irfan, Dr Ejaz Ghani, Dr Asifullah Khan, Prof Dr Zabta Khan Shinwari, Prof Dr Muhammad Ali, Dr Sheikh Saeed Ahmad, Dr Muhammad Mohsin Javed, Dr Faiz-ul-Hassan Nasim, Dr Raumish Masud Khan, Dr Anjum Zia, Prof Dr Ghulam Murtaza, Dr S M Saqlan Naqvi, Dr Sadia Shaukat, Prof Dr Muhammad Ozair Ahmad, Prof Dr Shahab Khushnood, Dr Khizar Hayat Bhatti and Prof Dr Umbreen Javaid. The others are Prof Dr Muhammad Abdullah, Prof Dr Muhammad Umar Farooq, Dr Shakeel Khoja, Prof Dr Bikha Ram Devrajani, Prof Dr Rasool Bux Mahar, Prof Dr Abdullah Saand, Dr Inayatullah, Ghulam Mujtaba Shaikh, Dr Syed Tufail Hussain Sherazi, Dr Salimullah Khan, Mahrukh, Dr Muhammad Jamil Khan, Dr Hamayun Khan, Dr Niaz Ali, Dr Murad Ali Khan, Prof Dr Muhammad Subhan Qureshi, Prof Dr Siraj-ul-Islam, Dr Gul Zaman, Prof Dr Naeem-ur-Rehman Khattak, Dr Aurangzeb Khan, Dr Syed Mushtaq Ahmed Shah, Dr Jamil Ahmad, Tamoor Khan, Uthal Lasbela and Dr Rukhsana Jabeen. Dr Muhammad Younus Khan Barozai, Dr Muhammad Aziz, Dr Muhammad Rafique, Nazima Ellahi, Dr Muhammad Asif Gondal, Prof Dr Iftikhar Ahmed Siddiqui, Prof Dr Aurangzeb, Dr Nadia Ayub, Prof Dr Aziz-ur-Rehman, Syed Faisal Ahmed Bukhari, Dr Farzeen Tanwir, Prof Dr Muhammad Abid and Syed Nadeem ul Hassan Mohani were also among the awardees.

Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read