Pakistan won 2nd T20 by 11 runs

Pakistan clinched the series 2-0.

Web Desk July 28, 2013
Zulfiqar Babar was named Man of the series for his brilliant performance. PHOTO: WICB

ST VINCENT: Pakistan defeated West Indies in the second T20 to clinch the series by 2-0.

In response to Pakistan's 135, West Indies were restricted to 124 for 9, at the end of 20th over.

Dwayne Bravo scored 35 off 44 balls, while Sunil Narine made a quick 28 off just 16 balls.

Sohail Tanver and Zulfiqar Babar were the pick of the bowlers, with two wickets each.

Umar Akmal was announced Man of the match, while Babar was named Man of the Series.

Pakistan has managed to post a total of 135 for the loss of seven wickets in the second and final Twenty 2o International between Pakistan and West Indies here in Kingstown.

After winning the toss and electing to bat first, most of the Pakistani batting lineup collapsed in a heap once again.

Skipper Mohammad Hafeez was the first to go with only ten runs to his name.

In an innings where Umar Amin (7), Haris Sohail (1), Shahid Afridi (6) and Hammad Azam (1) all failed to make a substantial contribution, Ahmed Shehzad and Umar Akmal were the only stars.

Shehzad hit two sixes and four fours on his way to a 46-ball 44, while Akmal smashed one six and three fours to notch up 44 from 36 delieveries.

Hafeez will be banking heavily on his spinners to win this series 2-0.

Pakistan have dropped Mohammad Irfan and Junaid Khan in favour of Asad Ali and Sohail Tanvir. Besides paceman Ali, middle order batsman Haris Sohail is also debuting as an out-of-form Nasir Jamshed sits out.


Mohammad Hafeez (capt), Ahmed Shehzad, Haris Sohail, Umar Amin, Umar Akmal (wk), Hammad Azam, Shahid Afridi, Zulfiqar Babar, Saeed Ajmal, Sohail Tanvir, Asad Ali

West Indies, who lost the first T20 game to Pakistan yesterday have rested Shannon Gabriel in favour of Christopher Barnewell.

West Indies:

Johnson Charles (wk), Chris Gayle, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Christopher Barnewell, Darren Sammy (capt), Sunil Narine, Samuel Badree, Tino Best

Facebook Conversations