Imran Khan to contest elections from four NA seats

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf chief Imran Khan decides to contest from NA-1, NA-56, NA-71 and NA-126.

Web Desk March 27, 2013
PTI chairman Imran Khan during a rally in Lahore. PHOTO: ABID NAWAZ/EXPRESS

KARACHI: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chairman Imran Khan will contest elections from NA-1 (Peshawar-II), NA-56 (Rawalpindi-VII), NA-71 (Mianwali-I), NA-126 (Lahore-IX), according to party spokesperson Shafqat Mehmood, reported.

Khan will most likely be up against Sheikh Rasheed from the Awami Muslim League for the NA-156, while Saad Rafique of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz will be the main contender for NA-126.

PTI to contest all seats from Karachi

The PTI also decided to contest the upcoming election from all the seats in Karachi, according to a statement from the PTI Central Media Cell on Wednesday.

It said that the local leadership has been asked to obtain and submit nomination papers on time. The decision regarding the party's tickets would be made soon, it further added.

Central Deputy Secretary General Imran Ismail asked PTI leaders from Karachi and interior Sindh to leave no constituency vacant and to submit nomination papers in consultation with the newly elected district presidents, tehsil and town office bearers.

Meanwhile, certain PTI members have submitted their nomination papers for National Assembly seats:

1. NA-250 Karachi, Dr Arif Alvi and Najeeb Haroon

2. NA-239, Subhan Ali Sahil and Syed Hafizuddin

3. NA-252, Ali Zaidi

4. NA-251 Zubair Khan

5. NA-241 Dr Saeed Afridi

6. NA-245 Riaz Haider

7. NA-240 Syed Hafizuddin

Our Publications


Adnan Ibad | 8 years ago | Reply

IK possesses true leadership essence for the peoples of Pakistan, a hope in the darkness.

Adil | 8 years ago | Reply

@zsaigal: Highly impressed with your thoughtful comments. Yes sure this is the case.

Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ