‘Four new women universities in south Punjab this year’

Govt has decided to set up home economics colleges at all divisional headquarters.

Kashif Zafar August 06, 2012


The provincial government will establish four new universities for women in Bahawalpur and Multan this year, Bahawalpur Division Colleges Director Prof Mushtaq Javed said on Monday.

He said degrees will initially be offered in six disciplines at these universities. These are English, Urdu, history, political science, chemistry and Islamic studies.

Javed said Sadiq Girls’ Degree College in Bahawalpur will also be granted charter as university in the current year. He said a new administrative block, a controller’s office, new class rooms and a hostel block would be constructed at the premises. The project digest (PC-1) for the purpose was being prepared, he added.

He said the government had decided to establish home economics colleges at all divisional headquarters in the province. He said work on these colleges will be inaugurated in the current year.

The director colleges said laptops would be distributed among students who had yet received them in September.

He said construction of two new women universities, in Khanbela and Bagho Bahar in Khanpur tehsil, had been completed. The colleges director said that  classes at these facilities would start from September.

He said contract lecturers would be hired at these universities for now. He said these would be hired for a period of six months and added that their appointment would be completed by August 15.

He said the administration of 16 commerce colleges had been handed over to the directorate of colleges. He said appointment of grade four staff had been completed in all colleges in the division.

Published in The Express Tribune, August 7th, 2012.


Ali | 9 years ago | Reply

Except chemistry all other subjects are waste of money, where these girls ll get the job. Islamic studies and languages if I m not mistaken we study in Pakistan from day 1 of our schools.

Students now ll get three MA degrees out of them none ll guarantee them a job

South Punjab | 9 years ago | Reply

Government Sadiq Egerton College,one of the oldest colleges of Asia in ,Bahawalpur (Southern Punjab) is offering Master and Bachelor Programs for the last many years but still this great institution is not being given the status of a university.Its the wish of everyone here to grant charter of university to this college. The students of this college want to highlight this issue through the medium of Express Tribune


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ


Most Read