Gilgit-Baltistan divided into three divisions

First division would comprise towns of Gilgit, Hunza-Nagar and Ghizer districts while Astore and Diamer districts

Our Correspondent February 01, 2012


Gilgit-Baltistan has been divided into three divisions to ensure better administration.

This was announced by the Chief Minister Mehdi Shah on Tuesday. “We have decided to divide the region into three divisions for better administrative control,” Mehdi Shah told reporters at his residence. He said that a decision to this effect was taken in the cabinet meeting held on Tuesday.

Giving details, he said the first division would comprise towns including Gilgit, Hunza-Nagar and Ghizer districts while Astore and Diamer districts would be included in the second division. Similarly he said Baltistan would comprise the third division which has already been notified.

“The decision has been taken in accordance with the people’s demands and a resolution passed by the assembly,” he said, adding that Chalat valley of Hunza-Nagar, Chorebutt of Ghanche, Phandar of Ghizer and Gultari of Skardu districts were notified as subdivisions.

He said a commissioner would be appointed as the administrative head of each division and people would not have to travel long distance unnecessarily.

Chief Secretary G-B Saifullah Chatta who was also present with the chief minister said that in future there would be no issue of salaries of government employees as issues pertaining to funds and overdraft have been resolved.

Published in The Express Tribune, February 1st, 2012.


Farhan Gilgiti | 11 years ago | Reply

There is a great lesson for our leaders.

The historical Balor state had three provinces.

Burushal (comprising of the states of Hunza, Nagar, Yasin Punial, and Gilgit) Dardistan (comprising Chilas and other adjacent areas, where the Dard tribes are living even today) Boloristan (Consisting of the states of Rondu, Shigar, Khaplu, Skardu and Kharmang).

We are back to the square one. The new name of GB should be Balawaristan, a country of the highlanders, and Pakistan should make constitutional amendments to make it the fifth province.

Ali Ahmad Jan | 11 years ago | Reply

Back to square one of three districts with upgraded posts of Commissioners

Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ