Sam Burns responds after being denied relief in US Open water hazard rules controversy

Sam Burns addressed rules officials' decision after being denied relief from standing water during US Open final round


Pop Culture & Art June 16, 2025

Sam Burns has responded to a controversial rules decision that may have derailed his US Open title hopes during the final round at Oakmont.

Torrential rain earlier in the day had caused a 90-minute delay, leaving standing water across parts of the course. While tied for the lead at one-over-par, Burns’ tee shot on the 15th hole landed in a waterlogged section of the fairway. Despite water visibly splashing during his practice swings, two rules officials denied him relief, forcing him to play his second shot from the standing water.

The approach landed in the rough, and he went on to card a double bogey on the hole—dropping him out of contention. Speaking after his round, the 28-year-old said, “When I walked into it I clearly could see water coming up… Called the rules official over. They disagreed… It’s not up to me. It’s up to the rules official.”

The incident followed other frustrating moments for Burns, including hitting from divots on two separate holes. “It happens. You play enough golf, you hit it in divots, everybody does,” he added. Burns went on to shoot an eight-over 78 in the final round, finishing tied for seventh at four-over-par.

Although he missed out on a maiden Major, the result marked his best-ever performance at a Major and earned him $615,786 in prize money. JJ Spaun ultimately won the championship by five strokes. Burns' misfortune has reignited debate over rules consistency in pivotal tournament moments.

COMMENTS

Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ