Captain Babar Azam among six players to holiday in London after T20 World Cup debacle

Rest of the team expected to arrive in Pakistan on June 19 via Dubai

Muhammad Yousaf Anjum June 17, 2024


The Pakistan cricket team, which failed to advance to the Super Eight round of the ICC T20 World Cup, will begin their journey back to Pakistan today. The team is expected to arrive in Pakistan on June 19 via Dubai.

However, sources have revealed that six players, including the captain, along with four officials, will not be returning with the rest of the team. Captain Babar Azam, Mohammad Amir, Imad Wasim, Haris Rauf, Shadab Khan, and Azam Khan have decided to spend their holidays in London before returning to Pakistan.

During their stay in London, the players plan to spend time with family and friends. Additionally, some are considering participating in local leagues within the UK.

Meanwhile, head coach Gary Kirsten and assistant coach Azhar Mahmood will head to their respective homes. With no immediate engagements on the horizon, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has permitted the coaching staff to return to their countries.

The Pakistan cricket team is set to host a two-match Test series against Bangladesh in August. Following that, the England Test team is scheduled to tour Pakistan in October.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ