Punjab replaces 13 special prosecutors

New ones notified to represent State in May 9 cases

Our Correspondent June 16, 2024


In a key development, 13 special prosecutors in Punjab — representing the state in cases linked to last year’s May 9 violence, including the Askari Tower attack — have been replaced.

The cases involve unrest triggered by PTI founding chairman and former premier Imran Khan being arrested for the first time from the premises of the Islamabad High Court in connection with a corruption case. The Askari Tower attack and other similar cases are being heard by anti-terrorism courts (ATCs).

The Punjab government has issued notifications for the appointment of new special prosecutors. The newly appointed special prosecutors are Chaudhry Armaghan Ahmed Pasha, Asif Javed Qureshi, Rao Abdul Jabbar, Arif Awan, Ilyas Habib, Malik Sarood, Rana Ashfaq, Rana Manzoor, Rana Naveed Ashiq, Rana Noman, Shahid Mehmood Minhas, and Shahid Shaukat.

The prosecutors will now represent the state before the ATCs in the May 9 cases, ensuring legal proceedings are conducted more efficiently.

Earlier on June 13, the Lahore High Court dismissed several applications filed by the Punjab prosecution department, seeking the transfer of certain May 9 cases from ATC-1 Rawalpindi to another court, with a fine of Rs200,000.

The provincial government’s plea read that it did not expect justice from the judge of ATC-1 Rawalpindi and that was why the cases should be transferred to another court. On February 11, ATC-1 Rawalpindi Judge Ijaz Asif granted bail to Imran in a dozen cases linked to the May 9 violence. He also granted bail to PTI Vice Chairman Shah Mahmood Qureshi in 13 cases.

In April, the ATC judge granted interim bail to PTI leader Zartaj Gul in a case related to vandalism and riots at Gujranwala Cantt on May 9 last year. Earlier this month, the ATC judge granted bail to PTI leader Usman Dar in a dozen cases pertaining to the May 9 unrest.


Replying to X

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

For more information, please see our Comments FAQ