Massive shake-up in Sindh bureaucracy notified

Interim govt replaces secretaries, top police officers including Karachi police chief

Our Correspondent September 07, 2023


The Sindh Services and General Administration Department (S&GAD), following approval from the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), has notified key appointments and transfers in the province. The provincial caretaker government submitted a comprehensive list to the ECP, which includes secretaries of 13 departments, commissioners of six divisions, the Karachi police chief, eight DIGs, and 31 SSPs and SPs. Additionally, the list comprises heads of institutions and deputy commissioners for 27 districts.

Shakeel Ahmed has been appointed as Chairman Planning and Development Board; Zahid Ali Abbasi as Senior Member Board of Revenue, Manzoor Ahmed as ACS Local Government and HTP Department, Sadaf Anees Sheikh as Secretary College Education Department, Shahab Qamar Ansari as Secretary I&C, Fayyaz Hussain Abbasi as Secretary Energy Department, Umar Farooq as Secretary Human Settlement, Bilal Ahmed Memon as Principal Secretary to Governor Sindh, Syed Hussain Naqvi as Principal Secretary to Sindh Chief Minister, Mansoor Abbas Rizvi as Secretary Health, Asad Zaman as Secretary Transport and Mass Transit, Noor Ahmed Samoon as Secretary Universities and Board Department, Asghar Ali Memon as Secretary Planning and Development, Muhammad Murid Rahmon as Secretary Investment Department, Asadullah Abro as Member Board of Revenue Sindh.

Tariq Hussain has been made DG Karachi Development Authority, Naseem Al Ghani as DG Malir Development Authority, Jalaluddin Mehr as MD Thar Coal and Energy Board, Ghanoor Ali Leghari as DG Sindh Slums Authority, Muhammad Ishaq as DG Sindh Building Control Authority, Danish Saeed as Member Judicial Board of Revenue Sindh, Manoor Ali Mathani as MD Sindh Technical Education and Vocational Training Authority, Sajid Jamal Abro as Secretary Social Welfare Department, Shariq Ahmed as Secretary Labour, Ijaz Ahmed Mahesar as Secretary Public Health Engineering, Nisar Ahmed Memon as Special Secretary Finance Department, Muhammad Ali Sheikh as Special Secretary Health Department, Akhtar Ali Qureshi as DG Labour Sindh, Agha Shah Nawaz as Special Secretary School Education, and Ejaz Ali Pathan has been appointed as Special Secretary, SMIE & IT Department.

Similarly, Muhammad Salim Rajput has been posted as Commissioner Karachi Division; Khalid Haider Shah as Commissioner Hyderabad Division, Faisal Ahmed as Commissioner Mirpurkhas Division, Syed Muhammad Sajjad as Commissioner Shaheed Benazirabad Division, Zulfiqar Ali Shah as Commissioner Sukkur Division, and Abdul Waheed Sheikh has appointed as Commissioner Larkana Division.

Moreover, Junaid Iqbal Khan has been made DC Keamari, Captain (retd) Altaf Hussain as DC South, Ahmed Ali Siddiqui as DC West, Altaf Hussain Sheikh as DC East, Captain (retd) Muhammad Saeed Laghari as DC Malir, Asad Ali Khan as DC Thatta, Abdul Fateh as DC Badin, Ali Zulfiqar Memon as DC Jamshoro, Dharmo Bhawani as DC Tando Allah Yar, Tariq Qureshi as DC Hyderabad, Abdul Wajid Sheikh as DC Sajawal, Fayyaz Hussain as DC Dadu, Rasheed Masood Khan as DC Mirpurkhas, Wali Muhammad as DC Umarkot, Abdul Halim as DC Tharparkar, Javed Ahmed as DC Larkana, Dadlu Zehrani as DC Jacobabad, Sajjad Haider Qamar as DC Shahdadkot, Altaf Ahmed as DC Shikarpur, Farrukh Shahzad as DC Kashmor, Zahid Hussain as DC Shaheed Benazirabad, Imranul Hasan as DC Sanghar, Muhammad Arsalan as DC Naushero Feroze, Fayyaz Ahmed as DC Sukkur, Syed Ahmed Fawad as DC Khairpur, and Agha Sher Zaman has been posted as DC Ghotki.

Additionally, Khadim Hussain Rind has been posted AIG Karachi, Syed Asad Raza as DIG South Zone, Asim Khan as DIG West, Captain (retd) Ghulam Azfar Mahesar as DIG East, Tariq Razzaq Dharijo as DIG Hyderabad, Tanveer Alam Odhu as DIG Mirpurkhas, Captain (retd) Pervaiz Ahmed Chandio as DIG Shaheed Benazirabad, Abdul Hameed Khoso as DIG Sukkur, Javed Jiskani as DIG Larkana.

These transfers and postings aim to enhance the efficiency and effectiveness of government operations across the province. The ECP has officially approved this list.

Published in The Express Tribune, September 7th, 2023.